Skip to content

Ficus Lyrata & Indoor Citrus Trees

June 8, 2011

A while ago, I mentioned that I’d like to find out the name of this plant/tree:


{Source: Elle Decor, photography Grey Crawford}

Good news! I came across this image at the Elle Decor website and found out that it’s called a Ficus Lyrata. Apparently, it’s called that because the leaves have a fiddle shape to them. I really love it, it has such presence.

What I also really like right now, is the idea of growing citrus trees indoors. I find citrus fruit beautiful in and of themselves, and it happens that the trees are very pretty too.


{Source: Southern Accents, photography Victoria Pearson}

In the article in Southern Accents, I read that it’s a very old tradition to grow citrus trees indoors. Apparently, King Louis XIV loved the smell of orange blossom and there was a greenhouse built on the grounds of Versailles just for citrus trees. {Just and interesting tid-bit.}

Do you have any small trees/ big plants in your home?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2011 10:58 pm

    No trees or plants for me. My sister has a lemon tree. It did well for awhile. I think she just forgets about it now. So sad.

  2. Littl' Sis permalink
    June 9, 2011 9:34 pm

    No tree in my house..but I do have a baby in my belly who seems to do tree impressions from time to time… :) love you big sis!!

  3. June 9, 2011 10:30 pm

    i need to move my citrus tree indoors!!! my neighbor found this cool little citrus tree at home depot. i liked it so much i went up and bought one too. well, hers is looking great, but mine has zero leaves on it and one little piece of fruit, where as hers is looking fantastic- full of leaves and fruit. the difference?! the squirrels are not as big in number in her backyard b/c she has a pool, a barking dog, and fewer pecan trees. i’ve caught the squirrels in action, so i know they are to blame for my balding tree. it never occured to me to bring it inside… hope to find a place with enough natural light…which is actually a challenge in my cozy little cave…

  4. June 10, 2011 8:29 pm

    yes! the squirrels are totally destructive- i have to put away my outdoor furniture cushions when not in use b/c they will quickly eat out the stuffing- they did it before when my first cushions were brand new. i was so mad!!!

  5. June 14, 2011 9:26 pm

    Wow, I would of never guessed that was a ficus. It is so beautiful though. Love the idea of bringing a citrus tree inside! Louis had a great idea, it would be wonderful to smell that everyday. I love, love your bulletin board. I can’t believe it has been that long since you painted it! That is one cool looking piece.

  6. Fianou permalink
    April 8, 2012 9:13 am

    I thought it looked like a tropical almond tree…
    http://casamexilio.com/news-events/i-have-always-wanted-a-tropical-almond-tree

  7. October 11, 2014 10:37 am

    Pretty part of content. I simply stumbled upon your
    blog and in accession capital to say that I
    acquire in fact loved account your weblog posts. Any way I’ll be
    subscribing on your augment and even I achievement you get right of entry
    to consistently fast.

  8. March 31, 2017 12:28 am

    I got what you mean , appreciate it for putting up.Woh I am delighted to find this website through google. “Spare no expense to make everything as economical as possible.” by Samuel Goldwyn.

  9. September 1, 2017 9:12 pm

    Your posts reminds me of my BFF. You should be incredibly proud of yourself. Nice read. I am trying to discover more on this issue.

  10. September 2, 2017 7:22 pm

    Guess I will just book mark this write up. My bestie is trying to discover more on this field. You always know just what to say. Will you write more about this?

  11. September 4, 2017 9:40 am

    Will you write more about this? Certainly a lot of things to take into consideration. I shared your blog on Twitter. Very nice write up. If you can, write me an Email and we will talk more because I have an idea you will like.

  12. April 6, 2018 3:54 pm

    Thanks for the different tips discussed on this site. I have observed that many insurance carriers offer clients generous reductions if they prefer to insure more and more cars with them. A significant volume of households have got several automobiles these days, specifically those with elderly teenage kids still located at home, and also the savings with policies can easily soon increase. So it pays to look for a great deal.

Trackbacks

  1. 15 Simple DIY Projects That Will Transform Your Indoors Into The Outdoors.
  2. DIY Projects That Transform Your Indoors To The Outdoors - Restnova
  3. 15 Outstanding DIY Projects To Make Your Home Interior Looks Amazing. | Colors And Joy

Leave a comment