Skip to content

Bulletin Board

June 10, 2011

I finally finished & hung my bulletin board. I got the idea for it a loooong time ago when I saw this photo:


{Image: Jimmie Karlsson’s home, Living Etc.}

I started the project at about the same time that I got the idea, because not long after finding that image I spotted a lovely ornate frame for $9 at a thrift store. I bought a can of white spray paint and gave it a coating.

I wanted my room to feel very girly and was inspired by Marie Antoinette with converse shoes (Sofia Coppola’s film featured a shot with converse shoes in the movie) – so I chose Marie Antoinette inspired colors, but wanted to give it the spray painted treatment/effect.

Ben knows his way around paint better than I do, and we didn’t actually end up using spray paint for the colors. After I spray-painted the golden frame white, he helped me achieve a graduated effect with regular craft paint.

And then it sat around for aaaages without anything in it. I finally bought a scrap piece of cork board at Home Depot and had it cut to size.

The next step that took me forever to get to was buying and covering it with fabric (I used bleached muslin).I wanted it to be white and I like it that the fabric adds a bit of texture.

And then I finally hung it up.

I wish my photos were better, I can’t seem to get them to come out the way I want…but anyway, here it is:

It nicely fills up the empty space at the right side of my desk:

I love how the graduated effect came out, especially where we mixed the magenta and blue together:

It’s so nice to have a spot to pin up little things that inspire me and/or make me smile.

Note to self: It feels really good to finish something.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Virginia permalink
    June 11, 2011 10:10 am

    So pretty! Love the inspiration and your board. It turned out beautifully.

  2. June 12, 2011 3:11 pm

    this is a great job you did! And it totally fits your room! Hope you have many inspirational moments at your desk ;)

  3. June 14, 2011 1:58 pm

    The idea of covering the ugly cork with fabric is a great one. I might copy this!

Leave a Reply

