Skip to content

Lovely Monday: Ikat

November 23, 2010

There are many reasons to love ikat fabric. It comes in gorgeous patterns and beautiful colors. It adds a bit of an exotic touch to a room and can just as easily be used to add an eclectic touch to a formal room (in a damask pattern for example) as being used in a modern, eclectic room.

The first time I really started paying attention to it was when I was in New York last year, browsing a great little book store near Bryant Park with lots of design books. One of the books I looked at that stuck with me was a collection of ikat fabrics.

What had me intrigued was the fact that ikat is widely used in Indonesia. It is also common in other cultures around the world and an ancient way of weaving fabric. Wikipedia tells me, though, that ikat is an Indonesian word, which can mean cord, thread, knot or refer to the ikat fabric itself, as well as mean “to tie” or “to bind”.
This all connects to the way it is made by weaving and/or knotting.

My dad was born in Indonesia and therefore things with an Indonesian connection have a bit of special meaning for me.

I think that in decorating your house, it is important to pay attention to those things in life that you love because it has special meaning to you. Of course, it doesn’t have anything to do at all with your ethnic background, but for me, that is one of the things that I like to play with (as you can probably tell from my blog title!).

As you can see above, the fabric I scanned in to use for my blog header is an ikat fabric. I love the soft grey color of it and the subtle woven in pattern. I picked it up when I was in Amsterdam and plan to turn it into a pillow.

Here are some lovely images that involve ikat:

Love these chairs!
Ikat Chairs

Framing a beautiful piece of fabric is such a great way to display it and I love how this framed panel isn’t done too “pefectly”:
Framed Ikat fabric

Those ikat curtains add a really nice bit of pattern to the room while the soft blue keeps it from being to much:
Ikat Curtains

Hope your week is off to a good start!

XO Jadyn

{image credits}
1. Fabric by Madline Weinrib, not sure where the image came from.
2. Elle Decor
3. Photo by John Bessler

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2010 6:28 am

    that fabric on the chairs is a favorite of mine. not cheap though!

    really digging the glass dining table and its legs. great post! thanks for sharing

  2. October 21, 2013 4:08 am

    Hi there, after reading this awesome paragraph i am as well happy to share my knowledge here with mates.

  3. October 21, 2013 7:10 am

    I visited several blogs however the audio quality for audio songs
    present at this web site is actually superb.

  4. November 14, 2013 12:36 am

    Your way of telling the whole thing in this article is genuinely
    pleasant, all can effortlessly know it, Thanks a lot.

  5. November 19, 2013 12:00 am

    I do not write a leave a response, but after looking at through a
    few of the remarks here Lovely Monday: Ikat | Dutch.British.Love.
    I do have some questions for you if it’s allright. Could
    it be just me or do some of these remarks look like they are left by brain dead visitors?
    :-P And, if you are posting on additional places, I’d like to keep up with you.
    Would you post a list of all of all your social pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

Leave a Reply

