Skip to content

An Engagement and Advent Tea

December 3, 2010

I got home at 11 PM yesterday. I was very excited to see Ben and get home to Halo and Kitty. However, a little less excited about the snow that greeted me as the plane landed in Buffalo! It’s pretty, though, and certainly puts me in the mood for Christmas.

But before I move on to Christmas related things (more of that later), I have to share the most special part of the trip. Remember I said I went to meet my sister’s boyfriend? Well, he’s now her fiance. Here’s a photo of my sister with her knight in shining armor right after he proposed to her. Don’t they make a beautiful couple?

I am glad I got to meet him before they got engaged and it was touching that he actually had me be there when he proposed. His 6-year-old daughter was there too and I have to say, meeting her was love at first sight. It is quite interesting to become an aunt unexpectedly, but I have a feeling I’m going to enjoy it.

And now, as promised, on to Christmas related things. I busied myself today with creating an advent tea wreath. I got the idea from the always inspiring Astrid at RedRedCompleteyRed. I’d wanted to make it before the trip, but ran out of time. And since today was already December 2nd, I got to work and here it is:

Today, I had chai tea and tomorrow is passion tea. It will be fun to enjoy different flavors of tea in the days leading up to Christmas. The only question is who gets to drink the “special” cup of tea, Ben or me? I guess next year I might have to make two of these…

XO Jadyn

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2010 9:38 am

    How exciting is that? I bet that made your trip huh? Congratulations to your sister and your soon to be brother n law. I love your tea wreath, a twist on an advent calendar for adults. I can not stop thinking about that mitten tree you showed from Anthro, I wish they sold their store decorations, they are so unusual and beautiful. Enjoy your time back at home.

  2. December 3, 2010 10:46 am

    Your wreath looks great! Somebody likes their Tazos, hey! And you’ll be amazed… out of the blue, Justin decided he wanted to join in and try all the teas — what I do is use each bag to brew a smallish pot of tea, and then you can get two-cups-worth out of them. There you go, Ben, now you can have some too!

  3. December 3, 2010 10:47 am

    Oh, and in that photo, he is ACTUALLY in armour, right? Was that for the occasion or does he work at one of those Medieval Times places? Such a sweet photo!

  4. December 4, 2010 4:20 pm

    Thank you for posting that, my sweet big sister! Shiloh misses you already..’why did she have to gooooo??’ :) We made a Owl Christmas ornament today…and she named it Jedidjah! hahahahahaha.. Love you mucho!!

  5. December 6, 2010 12:15 pm

    such a lovely story ;)

  6. December 6, 2010 10:19 pm

    oh that is so sweet! congrats to your sister and her fiancee!

  7. December 8, 2010 4:21 pm

    Wow, your advent tea wreath is *wonderful*! Love it! Love it! Love it!

    Thanks for stopping by and entering in the giveaway! I am excited to pick the winner!

    -Kristen

Trackbacks

  1. Counting Down The Days To Christmas… « Dutch.British.Love
  2. 5 Tea Bags Wreaths Suitable For Christmas – Decor İdeas

Leave a comment