Skip to content

Crown & Crumpet Tea Salon

December 8, 2010

I almost called this post “The $40 Post”. When I went to put the photos onto my laptop after our trip to San Francisco, the battery of my camera died and so the camera shut off while the photos were downloading. As a result, the photos that hadn’t been downloaded yet were deleted of my memory card. I had nooo idea this could happen! To make matters worse, the photos that were lost were from one of our favorite parts of the day: Crown & Crumpet.
To make a long story short, we ended up finding a program on-line that recovers data from a memory stick. My sister’s fiance ended up purchasing it so I could get my photos back. Pretty nice, eh?

So, be prepared for an overload of photos. Because,
1. The place was so cool, I wanted to share lots of photos of it.
2. Michael paid $40 for them.

My sister had sent me photos of this place before I even came there, knowing I would love it. So, we were pretty excited to actually be there together:
Crown&Crumpet

Walking into Crown & Crumpet is like a foray into loveliness. Even the blinds have cute graphics on them and the decor is absolutely delightful, like this gallery wall behind the chair with all tea-themed artwork.
Crown&Crumpet Collage

Their pretty logo is on all their china, and the tea pots and saucers have cute saying on them:




“Strange how a teapot can represent at the same time the comforts of solitude and the pleasures of company.”

Striking a “proper” pose for the photo, although who am I kidding? I’m a pretty proper girl most of the time.
Crown&Crumpet
Adorable vignettes can be found around the store. Isn’t that doll great? I could be wrong, but I’m thinking it’s Marie Antoinette, telling us to eat cake.

My happy sister and on a pretty sofa. Those Union Jack pillows are cute, too, such fun colors.


Yes, there were actual crumpets involved. What are crumpets, you ask? They’re similar in look to pancakes, but they’re made with yeast and have a chewy, spongy texture. They’re eaten with butter and/or toppings. Ben loves them and insisted we buy them when he spotted them in a Canadian grocery store. Now I love them too.

And here’s the little package of goodies that went to the winner of the Californian themed giveaway, the lovely Melissa. I put together a cozy package of winter-y goodies: Winter Solstice Tea from Peet’s (a West coast based coffee company), Wine-filled chocolates from a local winery and a little bird ornament from Target adorned with a ribbon bought in a charming store in Pleasanton.

I’ll leave you with the text on the card that I added with it:

Believe ~ There is not limit but the sky.

XO Jadyn

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2010 12:32 am

    Well your soon to be brother-n-law is making some points huh? Too bad about the cost though…but I sure did enjoy them! That place is so cool. You and your sister are so cute, you look like each other a lot. I think you should change your profile picture to this prim and proper one! What a fun trip.

  2. December 9, 2010 10:44 am

    glad you recovered the photos but too bad it cost u $40!!
    love the crown and crumpet teapot.

  3. December 9, 2010 1:25 pm

    Wow, what a place! All the Union Jacks and the French Renaissance atmosphere… did you just want to move in?!! And crumpets are my absolute fave… try them with a healthy spreading of Marmite, and a slice or two of sharp cheddar. Mmmmmmmm.

  4. Wendy Russell permalink
    December 10, 2010 7:33 pm

    Hooray for recovered memories! What a wonderful sister time together.

Leave a Reply

