Skip to content

Inspiring Blog Award + 7 Things About Me

March 20, 2013

My friend Caitlyn gave me the Inspiring Blog Award and I was so happy to get it. As I wrote in my last blog post, in starting a blog I wanted to create a little corner of inspiration. I think that’s why many of us start a blog, right? At least the blogs I read… we want to add a little beauty or inspiration to our readers’ days by sharing bits of our lives (the good and the bad – but never just to complain but rather to let others know that we’re all in this together), pretty things, yummy recipes, etc.. It’s a way to be creative and to connect.

So, anyway, to be given this award was all the better because Caitlyn inspires me all the time. She currently lives in Japan with her husband, where they teach English, and lives a much more adventurous live than I could imagine. They are about to embark on a new adventure – moving home to Michigan. I’m excited to see what that will be like for them and can’t wait to follow along on her blog! She blogs at Little Snail.

The award comes with some rules:
1. Display the award image on your blog page. 2. Link back to the person who nominated you. 3. State seven facts about yourself. 4. Nominate 15 other bloggers for the award. 5. Notify your bloggers of their nomination and link to them.

So, here we go ~

inspiringblogaward

7 Things About Me

1. One of my favourite snacks is raw almonds.

2. I love both coffee and tea, but I drink about 5 cups of tea to 1 cup of coffee. My favourite tea is chai and I am a little obsessed with Celestial Seasonings’ Bengal Spice, which I see as an herbal chai. However, life doesn’t feel quite right to me if I don’t start most of my mornings with a cup of regular Tetley’s.

3. I am not one to talk about my faith a lot, but if you asked me, I’d tell you that it is the most important thing in my life. In case you are wondering, I am a saved-by-grace, baptized, Bible-reading Christian.

4. I like music, but if you ask me what kind I draw a big blank. I have a horrible memory for bands or artist’s names, song titles or anything music related really, except for occasionally getting a single line from a song stuck in my head for hours on end. I do like to sing and I sing in the shower.

5. Because I am skinny, some people assume I don’t eat much. Those who know me, know that this is not true – I do love to cook and eat and I think about food more than I’d care to admit. ;) I rarely turn down food that is offered to me because I am usually hungry.

6. I often feel like I’m not really good at anything and only a little bit good at a few things. Sometimes this bothers me, at other times it doesn’t.

7. I think that if at the end of my life I can look back and say that I’ve loved God, I’ve loved the people around me and I have been loved, I will say that I’ve lived a good life.

Here are 15 blogs (in no particular order) that I personally enjoy and am inspired by – not in the least because they are written by kind, genuine, creative, lovely women.

1. Cre8tive Designs
2. La Griccia
3. Chrystina Noel
4. Elembee Etc.
5. Leela Fish
6. Mrs. Bachelor Girl
7. The Blooming Hydrangea
8. Smiles From Mel
9. A Wholesome Little Life
10. Estellelle
11. Loverly She
12. Courtney Lane
13. Love and Adventures (a private blog)
14. Kylee Noelle
15. Little Teas

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2013 11:41 pm

    Thank you for saying such lovely things! I also love chai! I like Celestial Seasonings, but I also enjoy hot chai after a meal at an Indian or Turkish restaurant. (Have you ever tried Celestial Seasonings Sleepy Time? We drink that every single night!). I am also particular to Chai Tea Lattes on Starbucks dates ;-) I also know what you mean about being a “jack of all trades but a master of none”–I feel like that all the time! On more positive days I tell myself that makes me more relatable to others because I can have a base of knowledge in several areas, and that it helps me to learn more, but sometimes I feel like it’s hard to choose a career out of things I’m just okay at! Can’t wait to check out the other blogs you’ve listed <3

    • March 21, 2013 10:34 am

      I love Celestial Seasonings Sleepy Time too! I often pick up a box of Bengal Spice and a box of Sleepy Time together, they’re my two favourites! I hear you about choosing a career out of many things when feeling like you’re not that great at any particular thing…I think it’s another reason I love blogging, because I can incorporate so many of my interests. :)

  2. lagriccia permalink
    March 21, 2013 3:08 am

    Darling Jadyn, you are doing me much honour. Thank you very much for the award, I feel very flattered to be one who inspires you, you inspire me too!

    • March 21, 2013 10:36 am

      Thank you, Blandina! I am inspired by your eye for beauty and I love learning more about textile arts through your posts.

  3. mrsbachelorgirl permalink
    March 21, 2013 9:45 pm

    You are too kind, dear :) I love this blog, and now I love it even more since we’ve gotten to see your transformation into a wonderful mother!

  4. March 25, 2013 6:26 pm

    Oh no. I shouldn’t have done it, but I did. I opened every link on this page. I’m going to have hours of reading to do later… when I find time… somehow. Thank you thank you for the nomination!! I’ll keep you posted on if this is something that can happen in my life right now. Thank you for sharing all of these!!

Trackbacks

  1. Very Inspiring Blogger Award & Dragon’s Loyalty Award | terry1954

Leave a Reply

