Skip to content

On Blogging

March 16, 2013
tags:

I remember how excited I was when I created my first e-mail address. I was 16 years old. I remember the excitement of typing in my user name and password and seeing that I had a new e-mail. It was a new way of expressing myself and of connecting, since communicating in writing is different than in person. This was before texting – neither I nor my friends had a cell phone and quite honestly the idea seemed a bit ridiculous. (Ha!) There was no Facebook and not even MySpace. It’s funny to think how much has changed.

Once I learned to use the internet, I also loved looking up websites and it quickly became a way to draw some inspiration. I looked up websites of my favorite brands (Ben & Jerry’s ice cream!), Christian authors that inspired me, and movie websites to find out background info on the latest movie I’d seen. Even then I had this thought in the back of my head that it would be cool to one day have my own website that people could visit for some inspiration or encouragement, just like I found in the websites I visited.

Photo 18

Every once in a while I have the urge to create a self-portrait with the Photo Booth app on my laptop.
Dorky but true. This is one that I took when I first started blogging.

I’ve never written a post on blogging itself, but there’s a first time for everything. I have not been blogging consistently for a while and I have to say that I’ve missed it. My blogging journey started three years ago, after taking an on-line class called Unravelling by Susannah Conway. I missed being creative in my daily life and was looking for a way to introduce that into my life again while connecting with others with similar interests. I also thought it would be a nice way to give my family back home a glimpse into my life that they wouldn’t normally have.

Photo 54
Photo 74

Here are a couple of my latest Photo Booth photos. I don’t have that many photos of Aiden and I
together so I decided to take some wile I was thinking about it.

Looking back, I can see how blogging has affected my life. I have met some cool, genuine, kind, generous, creative people through blogging. And blogging itself has inspired me and pushed me to create in my life and create a life that fits who I am better than the way I lived before it. Truthfully, I am happier than when I started blogging – and it’s not just blogging that has led to that but it’s been an important part of the whole.

Blogging has also given me a chance fulfill that old dream of creating a little place on the internet where I hope those who visit find a little bit of inspiration and maybe at times encouragement.

Photo 76

And here is one taken just now for good measure. ;)

So, after doing some reflecting on all this, I’ve decided that this blog is here to stay. I may not find the time to keep it up as well as I’d like (this has been bothering me), but I’ll do my best to keep it up nonetheless.

Thanks for listening. :)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2013 9:43 pm

    So glad I took that course, too! It seemed to come to my attention just when I needed renewal, both creatively and personally. I am glad you’ll find time once in a while to keep blogging, because I always love reading your posts! xx

  2. museconfuse permalink
    March 16, 2013 11:13 pm

    I agree. I really enjoy just blogging and being creative on my blog too. It’s fun :)

  3. March 16, 2013 11:59 pm

    I totally agree with your post! Blogging is definitely an enjoyable hobby for creative people. I find myself thinking of new ideas for my blog all day long. It’s just such an escape – and it’s a joy to connect with kindred spirits from all over the world. Looking forward to reading more!

  4. March 17, 2013 5:49 am

    I love the photos of you and Aidan, so much love!

  5. March 18, 2013 5:25 pm

    I’m glad you’re blogging and I love the photos of you!

  6. March 18, 2013 11:37 pm

    You’re quite welcome and I’m glad you’re sticking around. Three years is a pretty solid foundation to anything.

Trackbacks

  1. {The End} | Dutch.British.Love

Leave a Reply

