Skip to content

Capturing Aiden

January 9, 2013

For Christmas, Ben got me a book called Your Baby in Pictures by Me Ra Koh. I don’t know a lot about photography and I only own a point and shoot camera, but do love to take pictures. One thing I like about this book is that it gives specific instructions for taking photos with DSLR as well as point and shoot cameras, so I don’t feel left out as a point and shoot owner! It has also motivated me to get out my camera manual and I’ve realized that even my relatively simple camera has a lot of functions that I had no idea about.

I know that this phase of Aiden’s life will go so fast. He won’t be a baby for very long and I find myself staring at him, willing myself to soak in what he looks like, smells like and feels like at this time. I love to watch the expressions on his face and the movements of his little limbs.

I want to capture him in images (and video) because not only will it help me hold on to memories I might otherwise forget, it also helps me be really present right now as I’m trying to capture him as best I can.

One thing I didn’t anticipate about motherhood is that I’d be even more aware of how fleeting time is. He’s one month old tomorrow and it has flown by, but at the same time has also felt rich and deep. Some days feel long – Ben works 10 hour days and that can be a long time to be home alone with a baby on the days when it’s just Aiden and I. But sometimes I stop and wonder where the days go. Soak it in, soak in the goodness, I want to tell myself, even when it’s hard.

I love how his ears are crinkly at the top, they are unfolding as time goes by.
P1010153_2

His head looks so small cradled in Ben’s hands.
P1010189

He loves his bath time in the big bath.
P1010200

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Kim permalink
    January 10, 2013 10:25 am

    Jadyn, Enjoy every moment. My son turns 5 this March and the time has flown by. I enjoy teaching him things about gardening,butterflies, and nature. We have alot of fun, but I still
    find myself missing that baby smell and the soft cooing sound he would make while nursing.
    We called it the happy baby sound. Take lots of pictures and video this time goes so quickly
    and is so precious. Blessings, Kim

  2. January 10, 2013 11:21 am

    He’s so beautiful! His little crinkly ear is so adorable.

  3. January 10, 2013 11:59 am

    It really does go by all too fast. Beautiful photos.

  4. January 10, 2013 2:07 pm

    This is going to be a blast! That photo book sounds incredible – I’m excited to see all the shots. Keep enjoying!! (and yes, agreed about his cute little crinkly ear)

  5. lagriccia permalink
    January 12, 2013 12:04 pm

    Congratulations on such a perfect specimen of the human race.
    I can still feel the softness of my youngest daughter’s fine hair on my lips, tactile memories never fade.

  6. January 15, 2013 11:08 am

    He is just so sweet! Congrats again, girl!

Leave a Reply

