Skip to content

Update

July 8, 2012

14 weeks

I came across this idea a little while ago on The Wiegands and thought it would be a fun way to give a little update:

Baby’s size? About 5 1/2 inches long, about the length of a bell pepper

How far along? 18 weeks. I can’t believe how fast this is going, only two more weeks and I’ll be halfway!

Sleep? While transitioning from sleeping on my stomach or back to sleeping on my side, I slept restlessly for a little while. But now that I use a pillow to put under one leg, it’s going a lot better. Also, I nap pretty often. In the first trimester, I took a nap pretty much every day and I still feel better when I take a 15-20 minute nap in the early afternoon.

Maternity clothes? I just bought my first piece of ‘real’ maternity wear, a pair pants for work. Other than that I am still pretty small and fit into a good amount of my normal clothes!

Food cravings? For a week or two, I craved and loved root beer and it helped me not feel nauseous. What was weird is that normally don’t like root beer at all! But now I’m back to not liking it. Other than that, while I expected to crave ice cream and sweet things (and maybe pickles?), I’ve found that one consistent craving has been fruit and veggies. I’ve been making lots of salads and buying (and eating) fruit like there’s no tomorrow. Thank goodness that it’s summer and fruit is in season and relatively cheap! A few yummy salads I’ve made are chickpea and tomato salad with basil, Jamie Oliver’s Mexican street salad and Vietnamese cucumber and melon salad. The last one hit the spot for both my cravings for fruit and veggies. I used mango instead of the cantaloupe and it was fantastic.

Food aversions? In my first trimester, I disliked the taste of coffee and tea, but that has gone back to normal. I have a slight aversion to meat, although I do have the occasional craving for a juicy hamburger.

Symptoms I have? Just overall feeling tired more quickly and slightly more weepy (although there is a reason for that, more about that later in the post).

Doctor’s appointment? My next appointment is in a week, I can’t wait! :) It’s funny to look forward to doctor’s appointments. It definitely helps that I have great midwives. In Ontario, Canada, you can choose midwives instead of an OB/GYN (for a low-risk, healthy pregnancy) and I am so thankful to have that option.

Movement? I sometimes feel little twinges that I think might be the baby moving around…but it’s still too hard to tell at this point.

Belly Button? Still the same it’s always been.

Gender? We are not finding out. Ben is absolutely dying to know and, shhh, don’t tell, but so am I. BUT, I’d rather have the surprise at the end and it’s something I’ve always wanted to do that way…so I’m putting my foot down on this one. :)

Best moment of the week? Actually, I’ve had a rough week. On Tuesday, our beloved yellow lab mix attacked me. He was nervous because it was thundering and I was trying to get him to come upstairs because he’d gone into the basement where he wasn’t allowed. Instead of going upstairs he lunged at me and bit my hands and lower arm. We had already been looking for a new home for him because he had been slightly unpredictable in the past, but this was his worst case of aggression yet and not something we’d ever want to happened to anyone ever again. So we made the decision to have him put down. In spite of everything, it was terribly sad and difficult. When he wasn’t aggressive (which hadn’t happened in a long time and never this bad), he was a sweet and affectionate dog and we miss him a lot. My arms and heart are still healing but I’m trying to hold on to good memories, so some of the best parts of this week were the nice walks I had with him in the days leading up to the incident.

What I’m looking forward to? Feeling the baby move and for Ben to feel him/her kick! I can’t wait for that moment.

15 weeks

16 weeks

17 weeks

16 Comments leave one →
  1. mrsbachelorgirl permalink
    July 8, 2012 9:51 pm

    Oh, Jadyn, I’m so sorry about your dog. We recently had the same thing happen with one of our cats, and we made the decision to put her down, too. I worked in vet clinics all throughout college, so I know how to handle frightened animals, and she still tore me to pieces; can you imagine what she would’ve done to Harper or even The Guy? I know you guys made the right decision, painful though it is.

    On a much happier note, you look absolutely radiant, and I admire you for having the willpower to not find out the sex of the baby! What a lovely surprise that will be.

  2. July 9, 2012 2:48 am

    Lovely, lovely post, I am enjoying your pregnancy as if you were my daughter and it was nice to read how you feel and how it is.
    About baby’s gender, I always wanted to know beforehand and it was amazing to discover how ‘the baby’ suddenly became a person, no more a mysterious entity!
    Keep us posted of your progresses.

  3. July 9, 2012 8:20 am

    So sorry for your dog! That’s such a hard decision but even if you had gotten him a new home, you would hate to hear that later he had hurt someone else. You’re looking great!

  4. July 9, 2012 9:56 am

    You look absolutely beautiful. I also admire you not finding out about the baby’s sex. I’ve thought about doing that in the future, but don’t know if I’ll have the willpower. I also had an aversion to meat and craved strawberries my whole pregnancy. Hey, maybe that means girl? :)

    And so sorry to hear about your dog. I love mine so much and the thought of having to go through that is heartbreaking.

  5. July 9, 2012 10:01 am

    I’m so sorry to hear about your dog, I know that must have been a difficult decision. But I’m happy to see your progress! You look amazing!

  6. July 9, 2012 6:12 pm

    Wt sta je daar mooi moet je klein buikje ;) lief hoor… klinkt echt hollands… de vroedvrouw ;)

  7. July 11, 2012 5:55 pm

    awww you are adorable!! and so glad you can drink coffe and tea again! xo yummm!

  8. July 13, 2012 1:28 pm

    Looking beautiful – and LOVED this update. I know nothing about being pregnant – but I like the way this laid it out so that somebody like me can totally appreciate all of the changes/happenings going on. Also sorry to hear about the dog. And glad to hear about coffee and tea!! (it was you who had the T-E-A letters in your kitchen, right? I wonder if you changed them back to E-A-T for those few weeks…), and I think root beer is an awesome craving to have. Good luck with everything, thanks again for the update!!

  9. catfishback permalink
    July 15, 2012 4:44 pm

    Your baby bump is really cute!

    Catherine (your newest follower)
    FEST (food, style & travel)

  10. July 17, 2012 11:38 am

    Congrats (sorry I’m abut slow over here) but it’s a lovely idea to keep everything documented!

    Suzi x

  11. Jennifer permalink
    July 30, 2012 2:49 pm

    So glad I found your blog! Congrats on the pregnancy and looking forward to seeing more updates about the little one!

  12. August 1, 2012 12:22 pm

    I am just catching up on all my blogs, and I just saw your prego!!! Congrats! I am sorry about the rough week you’ve had, but this is such an exciting (and emotional) time in your life

  13. August 6, 2012 2:32 am

    Lovely baby bump!!
    xo Sandra
    redrose-vintage.blogspot.com

  14. eggthoughts permalink
    August 13, 2012 4:19 pm

    Hi there! Catching up on your blog, I was away at camp for a lot of the summer!

    Ugh, oh wow.. sorry about your dog. :( You did the right thing though.. what mixed emotions you must have. That’s hard.

    I’m not pregnant but.. ditto on the fruit and veggies craving! This time of the summer, I could eat just those and be very happy!
    ~Frances

  15. August 14, 2012 4:41 pm

    despite the weariness… you look so beautiful!

Trackbacks

  1. Molly Bs Maternity Exchange Walnut Creek, CA | pregnancy day by day, pregnancy symptoms, week by week pregnancy

Leave a Reply

