Skip to content

I Have Everything I Need

May 14, 2012

I was really touched today by a post called Decorating Truths from a 15-year-old Tanzanian Boy on The Nesting Place. The Nester (the pseudonym she goes by) and her family sponsor several kids through Compassion and she recently got to visit her 15-year-old sponsor child in Tanzania.

He is part of the Maasai tribe and lives surrounded by loving people in a mud hut. On the hut, he has written these words:

The Lord is my shepherd;
I have everything I need.
Psalm 23:1

As the Nester pointed out, he lives in a mud hut and him and his family didn’t have enough food before they were sponsored by Compassion. Yet, he boldly declares that he has enough and it’s written all over his home, literally.

I looked around at my 1400 square ft. home that I love but that I sometimes feel isn’t quite what I want it to be. And I realized once again how easily I let myself get dissatisfied with what I have and how much I worry at times about what I don’t have.

I was so touched by this teenage boy today and want to remember that I have everything I need and to be grateful. And I really need a lot less than I sometimes think I do. Just look at that kid in the photo, his gorgeous smile and handwriting on the wall sure taught me a lesson today that I want to remember in the upcoming time.

Ps. I’m also over at Lisa’s blog Elembee, Etc. today talking about what I’m crushing on at the moment, my current dream destination, what’s on my bucket list, what I’m reading right now and more. Find it here.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2012 11:01 pm

    This is something that I really needed to read before I went to bed. Thank you for this.

  2. mrsbachelorgirl permalink
    May 15, 2012 12:36 am

    What a beautiful reminder. Thank you for posting this, Jadyn!

  3. May 15, 2012 8:51 am

    Absolutely! I feel like the Lord has been reminding me on a daily basis lately of how much He’s given me and how incredibly blessed I am and yet I still get caught up in all these little things that done matter!

  4. May 15, 2012 10:28 am

    I definitely needed this reminder. Thank you!

  5. Jessica R. permalink
    May 15, 2012 4:36 pm

    I too need this reminder. And I loved your post one Elembee!

  6. May 15, 2012 8:50 pm

    Thank you for sharing … we all are guilty of moving through life so fast and forgetting just how blessed we are … We have soooo much more than we need.

  7. May 16, 2012 5:16 am

    You have such a lovely blog xx

  8. May 16, 2012 7:47 am

    A beautiful post, thanks for sharing this reminder with us Jadyn.

  9. May 16, 2012 9:29 pm

    I read this post too and was very touched as well! Such a beautiful reminder to be thankful and content with what we already have!

  10. May 18, 2012 7:47 am

    A very gentle reminder to us all. Thank you Jadyn!

  11. Stephanie Golda permalink
    May 18, 2012 3:19 pm

    I just read this and was reminded of you: http://www.nytimes.com/2012/05/17/garden/how-to-tell-if-youre-living-an-over-propped-life.html

  12. May 18, 2012 10:51 pm

    Such a good point. I kind of want to find some fun psalms/bible phrases and find a fun font and print them out.

  13. May 19, 2012 8:58 pm

    great post Jadyn! thank you for sharing this.
    happy weekend, xo

Leave a Reply

