Skip to content

Brussels Sprouts Potato One Pot Meal

May 7, 2012

I didn’t mean to take a blogging break that lasted a week, but I needed it. It felt strange not writing in this space but I needed to just be and sort through some things in my life. And it was good.

But I did miss writing & I missed you – the one reading these words. I write to share and it wouldn’t really be sharing without having someone to share it with. So thank you, for being there to share this with.

So, today I’m sharing a simple recipe. I’ve been craving simplicity lately. And I’ve been craving wholesome food. This recipe fulfills both cravings and was sent to me by my dad, love you dad!

It’s very flexible and these are really just guidelines. The sweet potatoes are an addition I added to the recipe. I love them, and they contain quite a bit more fiber and nutrients than white potatoes.

So, here it is:

Sautee a chopped up onion and a few minced cloves of garlic. Once they are softened, add ground beef and stir until the beef has turned brown. Cube potatoes and sweet potatoes and add them to the pot, together with halved brussels sprouts. Add some stock and a bay leaf and a little knob of butter. Stir to combine everything, bring it to a boil and cook for about 20 minutes until the potatoes are cooked through.

Yum. It smelled so good.

I made this with my sister-in-law on a lazy Sunday afternoon. (My hair is sooo long, I need to get it cut so badly!)

Shes’s so cute!

The men are absent from these pics, but the meal was enjoyed by all.

What have you been up to? Hope you had a great weekend!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2012 5:07 pm

    hehehe how dutch…spruitjes ;) hollandertje!

  2. May 7, 2012 5:09 pm

    thank you! always love getting new recipes and this looks yummy! (and your hair looks great long!) wishing you a wonderful week Jadyn…xo natalea

  3. mrsbachelorgirl permalink
    May 8, 2012 12:32 am

    You girls are so cute (your hair is gorgeous!) and that meal looks delicious – and healthy!

  4. May 8, 2012 1:21 am

    Nice recipe, I guess you could add all sorts of vegetables and herbs.
    I will serve with with boiled rice to fill those big tummies…

  5. May 8, 2012 10:50 am

    I’m a fan of one pot meals, mostly because I don’t like doing dishes. Must try!

  6. May 9, 2012 2:49 pm

    Looks so yummy!

  7. ChrystinaNoel permalink
    May 9, 2012 6:37 pm

    Welcome back!! (I haven’t had time to read in a week, so this little break of yours worked out great for me…)

    This looks delicious! And it sounds simple enough that I can’t screw it up…. awesome :)

  8. June 15, 2012 3:32 pm

    So simple and yet I bet the flavours are amazing. I have brussel sprout in my fridge RIGHT NOW! I think it’s meant to be

Leave a Reply

