Skip to content

Color My World // Week 2: Decor

April 10, 2012

Can you spot the yellow?

It’s a small step, but I had fun adding a bit of yellow to our decor this week.

I have a wooden salad bowl with matching utensils given to us by my in-laws that I wanted to add some color to.

I’m sure you could easily figure out how to do this, but nonetheless, here’s the step by step:

Add masking tape.

Brush on a couple of coats of paint. I used Mimosa by Martha Stewart from Home Depot, which they sadly won’t be carrying anymore (or so I’ve been told) but they can still mix the colors with a different brand. I like that this is a light and fresh yellow (as opposed to buttery which is nice too, but not what I was going for).

I decided I wanted to add a thin white band around the edge, so I added masking tape with just the edge of yellow sticking out.

Brush on a bit of yellow paint along the edges. It seals the edges and because the paint that bleeds under the masking tape will be yellow, it doesn’t show. This way, you get a crisper edge when you add the white.

Add masking tape to the bottom where you want the band to end and brush on a couple of layers of white paint.

And there it is! I love how cheery they look and can’t wait to serve a salad with them!

Be sure to check out what my fellow Color My World bloggers have done with their color too!

Ange – The Blooming Hydrangea
Anna – A Newfound Treasure
Carmel – Our 5th House
Cassie – Primitive and Proper
Jessamie – Bird and Branch Redesign
Julia – Pawley’s Island Posh
Kristy – Hyphen Interiors
Lisa – Shine Your Light
Lisa – Trapped in North Jersey
Maury – Life on Mars
Shaunna – Perfectly Imperfect
Shelley – Crazy Wonderful
Suzy – Saved by Suzy
Tiffany – Living Savvy
Tiffany – Worthwhile Domicile
Vashti & Jamie – Like Me Some

Have a very lovely day!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2012 3:13 pm

    So adorable! And so quick and easy!

  2. Lisa C permalink
    April 10, 2012 3:17 pm

    That’s a great way to perk something up without having to redo the whole thing!

    I also love that green and blue coat in the previous post :-)

  3. April 10, 2012 3:24 pm

    What a great way to add just a touch of color to something so simple!

  4. April 10, 2012 3:25 pm

    So cute! I’ve had a similar image pinned and have been wanting to try this with some utensils. Yours look great.

  5. April 10, 2012 6:29 pm

    I love that idea! Such a quick and simple way to renew your love with your serving ware (c: And yellow is pretty much the happiest color on the planet…

  6. April 10, 2012 8:15 pm

    What a fun way to add color! I love it!

  7. cre8tivedesigns permalink
    April 10, 2012 10:54 pm

    So simple but such big impact! Love how you added the little white stripe. Looks great on the book shelf next to the purple color. Great job

  8. April 11, 2012 12:15 am

    Great touch! I have been wanting to do this to some of my wood tools!

  9. April 11, 2012 12:26 pm

    Such a cute idea! I love them and color blocking is very in right now!

  10. April 11, 2012 12:52 pm

    What a great idea – thanks for sharing!

  11. April 11, 2012 3:47 pm

    So cute! I’ve seen these on Pinterest and they’re adorable!

  12. ChrystinaNoel permalink
    April 15, 2012 12:36 am

    Ahh!! So simple, but awesome! Makes me wonder what sorts of little things I can do around my apartment to keep things fresh…

    • Hiren Modi permalink
      April 16, 2012 4:33 am

      Yes, You are right!

Trackbacks

  1. Color My World // Week 3: Paint « Dutch.British.Love
  2. Color My World Challenge // Week 4: Fabric « Dutch.British.Love

Leave a Reply

