Skip to content

Whole Wheat Banana Bread

March 24, 2012

I am always excited when I have some bananas that are turning too brown to eat, because it means banana bread is in my near future.

Whole Wheat Banana Bread

Dear banana bread, thank you for being so easy to make and for making me believe that I’m eating something healthy. And thank you for making that only a partial lie.

First, preheat your oven to 350 F. Also, grease a loaf pan. Than stir together two egg whites, a 1/4 cup of canola oil, 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1tsp vanilla extract.

Whole Wheat Banana Bread

In another bowl, mix 1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1/4 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp cinnamon.

Whole Wheat Banana Bread

Mash enough bananas to make 2 cups of banana puree – it takes 4 or 5 depending on size.

Whole Wheat Banana Bread

Stir the banana puree into the liquid mix.

Whole Wheat Banana Bread

Then add the whole she-bang to the flour and stir until there are no large dry bits left.

Whole Wheat Banana Bread

Tip the contents of the bowl into your loaf pan.

Whole Wheat Banana Bread

Bake 55 to 60 minutes enjoy the delicious smell that starts to waft from your kitchen.

Pull your glorious banana loaf out of the oven.

Whole Wheat Banana Bread

Enjoy!

Whole Wheat Banana Bread

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2012 3:36 am

    omy – this looks fantastic. i am very hungry now haha you are just so talented :0) thanks for posting this lovey

  2. March 24, 2012 11:57 am

    This looks so delicious! I love adding chocolate chips to my banana bread.

  3. March 24, 2012 1:52 pm

    Banana bread is one of the first things I learned how to make! I love it! Yours looks way better than mine though haha!

    :)
    xx

    http://daydreamfrenzy.blogspot.com/

  4. March 24, 2012 10:02 pm

    Yum!! that looks amazing! Runaway Thrift is having a giveaway through March 29th, check us out!

  5. March 25, 2012 11:00 am

    Looks delicious! My grandma makes banana bread all the time but I never eat it because she puts nuts in it. I’ll have to try this recipe!

  6. March 25, 2012 12:10 pm

    Sounds yummy! Thanks for sharing this recipe :)

  7. Jessica R. permalink
    March 26, 2012 10:29 am

    I love your pan! And I love banana bread. I have some over ripe bananas and I think I’ll make some tonight!

  8. March 27, 2012 4:14 pm

    I am salivating as I type. I mean, this sounds so so good! I love banana-anything, especially bread!

  9. ChrystinaNoel permalink
    March 28, 2012 12:24 am

    this looks delicious!!

Leave a Reply

