Skip to content

Blue D1653

March 17, 2012

In the post about the new Starbucks concept store in Amsterdam, I mentioned traditional Dutch Delft blue tiles. I thought I’d share a little bit more about Delft blue pottery, mostly because I just read about a line of beautiful modern pottery based on these traditional designs in Canadian House & Home.

I find heritage brands of all kinds fascinating. This one was espcially interesting to me, because I grew up admiring tiles like these that surrounded the fireplace in the house I grew up in:

Delft Blue traditional Dutch tile

Fun facts about Delft blue pottery:

  • It became popular in the 1600s, when they started making them inspired by pottery imported from Asia.
  • The paint that is used contains a special ingredient called cobalt oxide. It changes from black to blue in the oven. The paint is mixed with water to obtain different shades of blue; the more water is added, the lighter the blue.
  • Even though there are Delft Blue imitations found everywhere in souvenir shops, the real deal is very expensive and only two companies in The Netherlands still make them: Tichelaar en Royal Delft – De Koninklijke Porceleyne Fles (“The Royal Porcelain Bottle”)

Here are a couple of other examples of traditional designs:

Delft Blue Traditional Dutch Windmill Plate

Such a beautiful jar!

Delft Blue Traditional Dutch Vase

Royal Blue has created a new line inspired by traditional designs. They named the line Blue D1653, which is a playful take on Delft Blue and a nod to heritage with the inclusion of 1653, the year the company was founded.

Delft Blue D1653 Bottle

Delft Blue D1653 Bowl

Delft Blue D1652 Tea Pot

Blue D1653

Delft Blue D1653 Gourd Vase

I just love the mix of modern design and tradition! The gourd vase is probably my favorite, although my tea loving heart really is quite smitten with that tea pot as well! And that milk bottle is really fun too, don’t you think?

And something else, I feel inspired by this line beyond the fact that they are pretty. I find myself inspired to want to look to the things in my past and present that I have a connection with and to use them in new and innovative ways. I don’t see myself as someone who is very innovative, but I am feeling inspired to want to push the envelope a bit and think more creatively. I think that is one things that good design can do for you, do you agree?

Which one is your favorite?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2012 3:00 pm

    I always loved Delft porcelain and the new line is fantastic. I am partial to the tea pot!

  2. ChrystinaNoel permalink
    March 17, 2012 4:03 pm

    I’m torn between the jar and the teapot (as a tea drinker myself..). Also, I think it’s cool that it starts out black and then becomes blue in the oven. The geek in me really wants to see the chemistry behind the reaction that occurs…

  3. mrsbachelorgirl permalink
    March 17, 2012 11:02 pm

    My mother loves blue Delft and actually has a few authentic pieces, one of which she salvaged from an old abandoned house! Can you believe that?!

  4. March 18, 2012 1:43 pm

    I love this post. I know so little about my Dutch heritage. And funny – I have always been drawn to blue and white patterned China. I really love that little teapot set. So simple and so sweet. Thanks Jadyn!

  5. Lisa permalink
    March 18, 2012 3:36 pm

    What a fascinating history, and such beautiful and inspiring designs!

  6. March 19, 2012 12:58 am

    Totally with you, that gourd vase is such a beauty! I totally know what you mean in your last paragraph. It makes such a difference to have things in your home that really mean something to you (versus just filling a home with trendy things–just because). You know? That’s one of my favorite things about design! Making a space personal and charming :) You definitely have the right mindset, girl!

  7. Jessica R. permalink
    March 19, 2012 9:56 am

    When I saw this I immediately thought of the book, The Girl with the Pear Earring. Have you read it? There are a lot of references to Delft tiles. That was the first time I had ever heard the name.

    • March 19, 2012 10:28 am

      I haven’t read the book, but I’ve seen the movie and I loved how they talked about paint. Would love to read the book too – thanks for reminding me of that.

  8. March 26, 2012 4:37 pm

    i’m obsessed with blue on white china! Lovely finds!

  9. Virginia permalink
    August 18, 2012 10:04 pm

    Is the new Delft produced commercially yet? Can it be purchased anywhere online?

  10. October 28, 2013 1:11 pm

    With havin so much content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or
    copyright violation? My blog has a lot of unique content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced
    but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without
    my authorization. Do you know any ways to help protect against content from being ripped off?
    I’d definitely appreciate it.

  11. November 15, 2013 9:37 am

    It’s really a great and useful piece of info. I’m happy that you simply
    shared this useful information with us. Please stay us
    informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

