Skip to content

Homework, Long Lasting Flowers And More

March 15, 2012

Here’s a little update on what I’ve been up to lately:

{Business}
I am working on a room design for Deborah, who will be working on renovating their house Kilbourne Grove (such an awesome name) after they get back from Barbados where they’ve been living for her husband’s work. Their house is located in Ontario, a bit further north than we are, which is also pretty cool!

{15 before 30}
As you could see in my post yesterday, I finished my heart pillow and crossed #5 off the list.

{Course Work}
I took a vacation day this week, so I’d have a long weekend to work on schoolwork as well as the room design. It’s been so nice to have some time to really focus and feel like I am getting somewhere rather than trying to fit it in with everything else. All I need to do is keep it up over the next little while!

And here are a few other things that have made me smile lately…

I bought these flowers when decorating for our work Christmas party, which took place our house, on January 5th. January 5th!! They still look so vibrant after almost 2 1/2 months.

The cold temperatures in the entryway have been preserving them and I am sure that they will start wilting soon now that the weather is warming up. But I am amazed at how long they’ve lasted.

Someone backed into our car a while ago and we finally got a new taillight. Long story short, we ended up being given this one by my manager when here fiance’s car died. I was so blown away by their thoughtfulness. They noticed our cracked car light when driving me home one night and the fact that it was the same model as their car that had died. Then they removed the light from theirs before sending it to the wrecker and gave it to us! So thankful.

This is a dark photo, taken with my phone at dusk, but it makes me smile. Cider was hanging out with me on my lap as I was doing homework.

The awesome art work by my co-worker and friend Marco on the blackboard sign at our Starbucks, I always love seeing the signs he comes up with.

Starbucks sign

I hope you’re having a great week with lots to smile about!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2012 8:21 am

    Wow, that’s such a cool idea, to put flowers in a hanging vase.

    themeltingpotofstuff.blogspot.com

  2. March 15, 2012 10:36 am

    Love those flowers! I can’t believe they have lasted so long!

  3. mrsbachelorgirl permalink
    March 15, 2012 12:40 pm

    Your cat’s name is Cider? I love it!

  4. March 16, 2012 3:34 am

    Those flowers are so pretty! I can’t believe they lasted so long! And, glad you got to get a new taillight! How cool that someone gave it to you! Happy Friday!

  5. March 16, 2012 7:58 pm

    Love that Starbucks sign! What a talented friend you have.

    Loved your comment on my “i love” post the other day. Hearing about your husband’s goofiness, cups of tea and the reminder of God’s love just made me grin ear to ear. Thank you for saying you like my yellow scarf! Haha, the picture didn’t show much of it, did it? :)

    SoUtHeRnPiNkY.bLoGsPoT.cOm

  6. March 17, 2012 3:04 pm

    I do love carnations, but they are not common here, not fashionable! I usually buy them when I visit my son in LA, and in the same pretty colour as yours (but they do not last so much).

  7. ChrystinaNoel permalink
    March 17, 2012 6:48 pm

    I really like that Starbucks Board. I’ve got a soft spot in my heart for Starbucks. And single boys that work at Starbucks… yes, I know they’re SUPPOSED to be nice to you, but it just makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

