Skip to content

Roomology: Pink Chairs & Gallery Wall

February 28, 2012

Roomology – A series where I take a room and break it down into different elements. It is helpful to learn a way of looking at a photo of a room that enables you to pinpoint what it is that speaks to you. This will help you translate your inspiration into your own space. I am simply sharing some of my own thoughts on the featured room – what I choose to high-light might be different from what you see in it!

{Anna Spiro’s home, Absolutely Beautiful Things}

I don’t know if this is an entryway, hallway or part of a larger room, but it is a great example of a wall that could have been boring, but has been turned into a beautiful focal point!

Colors: The wooden floor and beautiful dresser have the same medium-tone warm wood color that add warmth to the fresh feel of the white walls walls are white. This simple palette provides the perfect calm background to the pops of hot pink from the chairs, which are the star of the room! More colors are added by the gorgeous gallery wall: Muted pinks, mustard yellow, orange, blue, black and tints of gray.

Texture: One note on texture is the interesting architectural detail added by the vertical panelling and chair rail as well as a rail higher up. Adding panelling to a wall can make a lot of difference in the feel of a room.

Art: Even though the chairs are the star, it’s the gallery wall that makes this room in my opinion. I love this mix of flower paintings that have both a modern and classic feel to them and abstract paintings. Overall, it feels earthy, pretty and modern.

Accessories: A few silver frames, a candle and other silver and glass items create a lovely vignette on top of the dresser with a vase of lilies that goes so well with the paintings behind it!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2012 9:31 am

    Love the gallery wall – thanks for sharing!

  2. February 28, 2012 9:41 pm

    Jadyn,
    Thanks for taking the time to stop by my blog the other day! I’m sure glad I got to check out your neck of the woods too. This entry way is so authentic and cozy. I love the scattered art work and the fun pops of color.

  3. February 29, 2012 9:03 am

    I just LOVE gallery walls!

  4. February 29, 2012 10:42 am

    This is one of my all time favorite pictures…that pink chair gets me every time!!!

  5. ChrystinaNoel permalink
    February 29, 2012 10:49 pm

    I really like that flower painting in the middle of the wall. I can’t seem to take my eyes off of it…

  6. March 2, 2012 11:56 am

    This photo makes me want to run out and buy thrift-store chairs to recover RIGHT NOW!

  7. March 3, 2012 11:15 am

    Ok I loooove this room! The gallery the chairs..everything! Thanks for giving me some inspiration for my entryway! :) I needed it!

    Jenna

Leave a Reply

