Skip to content

One Room Challenge // Week 6: Finale!

February 22, 2012

Welcome to the finale of our 6-week-long challenge! Taking a room from start to finish with 14 other bloggers was a lot of fun (Lisa had to bow out due to finding out that she was moving to a different state sooner than expected but she was still part of the journey)! As I said last week, I didn’t get done as much as I wanted BUT I do have stuff to show you!

Here we go! This is what I started off with:

And this is what it looks like now! (For some reason, the text I added between the rest of the images isn’t showing up and my attempts to fix it have come to nothing…so, I’ll just let the images speak for themselves!)

I am so glad to have participated in this challenge and it’s been wonderful to see the other rooms progress from start to finish. I will continue working on our dining room but for now it feels like it’s taken a huge leap forward already. I just want say a special thank you to Linda for getting us all together for this challenge!

I also wanted to add a little note about budget. I ended up spending just over $20 on this room, here is what I bought:

Sample size pot of purple paint: $0.98 (on sale at Lowes), washi tape from this Etsy store $ 13.30 including shipping, black board paint +- $6 , chalk from the dollar store = About $21.30

I used leftover primer, paint and brushes from other projects. I also repurposed items and gathered some stuff I had put away in storage and re-arranged them in a new way (most of these things I gathered over times at thrift stores and didn’t cost more than a few dollars each).

Of course, had I done everything I’d wanted to get accomplished, I would have spent more and I will end up spending more to get it to look the way I want it to! But I just wanted to give a little encouragement on others who are on small budgets that you can do so much by sitting down and thinking about what you are looking for in feel and function and then use your imagination to think up ways to accomplish that! Oh and some time and effort of course. :)

Don’t forget to check out the big reveals by my fellow One Room Challenge bloggers! It’s so exciting to see things come together for everyone!

Saved by Suzy
Nicole Scott Designs
Kim Macumber Interiors
Rue de Emily
The Pink Pagoda
refresheddesigns
Nana Moon Shop
Taylor Morgan Design
Insideways
My Crafty Home Life
House Four
Living Savvy
(A Lifestyle Thing)

27 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2012 9:54 pm

    This is beautiful! I love the quote that Grace is a way of life. I couldn’t agree more! I love what you have done … every minute of making it personal makes it a star!! Thank you so much for sharing in this challenge. It has been fun and i am thrilled I met you!!

  2. February 22, 2012 10:00 pm

    What…you only spent $20! That is fantastic. The chairs look so much better black. The hutch looks so much better without the checks. I love the chalkboard. The tape on the edge is such a great idea. Well done.

  3. February 22, 2012 10:47 pm

    I love what you did with the purple on the bookshelf. it really is a fun color and the tape in the built-in,too. The chairs are one of my favorite things you did with the work involved..neat job!

  4. February 22, 2012 11:01 pm

    Hi Jaydn, I love the black chairs, they really turned out great!! The small changes you made with paint and the addition of the chalkboard really do fill up and enliven your room, and I think it looks terrific! Esp that Corner cupboard…I would love to have character like that in my place. Great job!!

  5. February 22, 2012 11:20 pm

    Wow that went by fast! I love the branch with the added coffee mugs, so anthro :) Just the little bit you got done and on the budget looks really good. I am sure it was hard not to get everything done, but hey you got more done than you would of if you didn’t have the challenge right?

  6. February 23, 2012 8:52 am

    I wouldn’t have picked purple for a bookcase but you clearly know what you are doing because it looks great in there!

  7. February 23, 2012 9:31 am

    The changes you’ve made look awesome! I also love the Grace quote on the chalkboard. And kick-ass that you spent $20, seriously.

  8. February 23, 2012 9:32 am

    So pretty! You’ve really opened up and de-cluttered the space and it makes such a big difference. I especially love the book shelf and the chalk board.

  9. February 23, 2012 3:24 pm

    LOVE IT! The chalkboard and the quote on it is fab! Amazing how some simple changes can make such a big difference :)

  10. February 23, 2012 7:04 pm

    Love how the bookshelf turned out!! And the chalkboard is adorable. Also love the way you styled everything. Great job!!

  11. February 23, 2012 9:07 pm

    Aw Jaydn it looks really really cute! And sheesh, way to work on a budget! I’m with you – I didn’t finish, but it feels great to have such a big push in the right direction :)

  12. February 23, 2012 11:33 pm

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE the purple on that cabinet! The ribbon detail in your china cabinet is so sweet! I love how your styled it. Those tea cups on the branch are brilliant!

  13. February 23, 2012 11:44 pm

    The black chairs are perfect! I love the chalkboard too!

  14. pap permalink
    February 24, 2012 12:35 am

    mooi Jedid, heel mooi, wat binnen in zit komt naar buiten. hou van je. je pap

  15. February 24, 2012 1:15 am

    Those black chairs came out perfectly and what a difference they made in the space. I love the corner hutches…they are such fun places to decorate. Great job!

  16. February 24, 2012 2:19 am

    Bravissima, I like so much what you did!
    I also like what is written on the board…

  17. February 24, 2012 12:04 pm

    Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment. Keep up the good work on your rooms …what a wonderful project! The rooms in my home seem to be constantly evolving …gotta love decorating!

    Jan @ BellaCasa

  18. February 26, 2012 7:45 pm

    Yay! You finished! I’ve been waiting patiently for the end result and I love it! I love that bookshelf!

  19. February 28, 2012 11:47 am

    Jadyn this looks amazing! I love all the little details…especially the branch teacup mobile above your table! You did a great job :)

  20. February 28, 2012 7:46 pm

    I like some of your creative touches. Love the message on your blackboard. And your twig and tea cups is unique. Thanks for sharing this make-over. Gail

  21. ChrystinaNoel permalink
    February 29, 2012 9:56 pm

    Ahhh!! I love the way it turned out! I really really like the black chairs, and the choice of the purple and all of the little accessories all around the room…. and all for only $20… perfect.

  22. March 1, 2012 5:45 am

    :O this blog is awesome!! I love all of your posts.

  23. March 2, 2012 11:58 am

    Great job, Jadyn! I can’t believe you only spent $20!

  24. March 2, 2012 1:31 pm

    LOVE how this turned out!! I love your colors – so lovely. Thanks for linking up to the Take it on Tuesday blog hop. I’m pinning this!

  25. March 3, 2012 3:32 pm

    Love your cute little place! The built in and the way you set it was beautiful. Not too much, not too little. A constant struggle for my bookcases and built-ins!

    xo Taylor

Trackbacks

  1. what is your starbucks drink of choice? | Chrystina Noel

Leave a Reply

