Skip to content

Quick Treat: Mango Coconut Smoothie

February 20, 2012

I love drinkable treats and they’re such a great way to have a moment of self-indulgence in a busy day. I made this mango coconut smoothie the other day and it was such an easy treat and healthy too.

A note on the healthy part if you’re interested: There is some debate on how healthy coconut milk is for you. It does contain a lot of saturated fats but some reports say that they are different from saturated fats from other sources and not associated with negative effects on your health because the body processes them differently. There are also health benefits ascribed to coconut milk and it is said to help with, for example, cardiovascular health.

Here’s how to make it: Combine a mango, half a tin of coconut milk (use the light version for a lower calorie treat) and a handful of ice in the blender and blend until smooth. I also added chia seeds for extra nutrition, you don’t taste them, but they add healthy omega 3 fats.

Find a quiet spot and sip slowly before you return to you busy life. So good!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2012 11:19 am

    Yum!! I love mango and coconut milk.

  2. February 20, 2012 11:47 am

    Up to now I only used coconut milk when cooking, I will try to drink it!

  3. February 20, 2012 12:39 pm

    OMG this looks delish!
    I gotta go get the stuff to make this :)
    Yummers…

    Cheers,
    Messy

  4. February 20, 2012 12:46 pm

    It is a bit cold here for smoothies right now but I love mango and coconut milk so I will be trying this in the future!

  5. February 20, 2012 3:45 pm

    Sounds yummy!

  6. February 20, 2012 4:46 pm

    Oh I wish my grocery store was open today!
    I would love to be sipping on one of these right now as I catch up on my blog reading.
    Happy Family Day :)

Leave a Reply

