Skip to content

Roomology: Gray Living Room With Gallery Wall

February 17, 2012

Roomology – A series where I take a room and break it down into different elements. It is helpful to learn a way of looking at a photo of a room that enables you to pinpoint what it is that speaks to you. This will help you translate your inspiration into your own space. I am simply sharing some of my own thoughts on the featured room – what I choose to high-light might be different from what you see in it!

{Via House to Home UK}

Shapes: There are a mix of straight lines and curved lines in this room, but one thing that stands out to me is that there are a lot of rectangles. The picture frames are rectangular, and so are the sofa, the coffee table, the cubbies and the spines of the books in the cubbies.

This made me think about what I’d change if I could make the room more “me”. If I could switch out only two things in the room, I’d switch the sofa and the dresser that has the TV on it for pieces with softer lines. I might use an English arm sofa (like the one that Sofia Coppola sits on here) and a more ornate French provincial dresser. It’s not that this would make the room better (and not worse either) but it would suit my personal taste more and I’d feel more at home in it. This is an example of how being able to analyze a room and its elements helps you understand your personal taste and gives you the ability to pinpoint what you’d like to surround yourself with!

Colors: Dark gray with accents of purple, wine red and green-blue, as well as a a few additional colors in the fabric of the ottoman. It’s interesting how the colors of the spines of the books do a pretty good job mirroring the colors in the upholstery of the ottoman! I like how the use of grey and white in this room add a sense of crispness to a very eclectic space.

Layout: The gallery wall and small TV (hardly noticeable among the frames) provide a focal point around which the seating is organized. I’d personally pull the sofa away from the window a bit (I am picky like that).

Lighting: Two flower-shaped pendants (predictably, I love them!) provide overhead light, two floor lamps provide task light.

Ornamentation: The accessories are kept pretty simple, the gallery on the wall and all along the ceiling are really the star in this room.

What do you think about this room? Do you like the amount of picture on the wall or do you find it altogether too much? I love how personal this space feels, I feel like I’d want to get to know the owners of this space better over tea!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2012 11:51 pm

    I like a room with a lot going on, I think it gives the room life and makes it more cozy. Love the dark gray but also that the room manages to seem light and bright even with the dark paint.

  2. February 19, 2012 2:20 pm

    I really love aspects of this room – so much light, and the colours too!!But I prefer rooms with less going on….but for eye candy? This is perfect!!

    Sarahx

  3. ChrystinaNoel permalink
    February 23, 2012 11:19 pm

    I’m so addicted to large walls fulls of pictures. And this room even has the border of pictures around the top. I think there’s a lot going on, but I think the color choices are great and it looks very cozy and homey. Thanks for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

