Skip to content

One Room Challenge // Week 5

February 15, 2012

Welcome to week 5 of the One Room Challenge! (Not sure what that is? You can find my previous posts in this series here: week 1, week 2, week 3 & week 4.) Of course you can’t see it but right after I typed the first sentence, I covered my face with my hands in dismay. Why? Well, at this point in time I am realizing that I won’t finish this room to the extent that I was hoping for. I underestimated the time it would take me to paint the dining set, and was too optimistic when it came to some other considerations – mostly availability of time, energy and transportation.

Transportation, you ask? Well, I don’t have my license and the nearest IKEA is a 45 minute drive away. I didn’t think it would be that hard to get a ride there in the six weeks of this challenge, but other life things have interfered and it just hasn’t worked out. In the meantime, I’ve been taking driving lessons and was so wishing I could just drive myself, but I will have to pass that darn driver’s test first.

Not finishing is bothering me, as it feels a bit like failure (well technically, I guess I AM failing the challenge!). But I suppose life will go on… :)

Sadly, these IKEA fabrics that I fell in love with won’t be a part of next week’s reveal.

But I hope to make it to IKEA pretty soon and will keep working on the room after the challenge is done. I can see so clearly in my head how it will come together, but it will take some time and elbow grease to actually get it there.

Moving on – what DID I get done this week?

All four chairs have at least one coat of black paint on them. I am loving the black look.

I also put a coat of purple paint on the shelving unit.

Another sweet addition to the dining room is an orchid that Ben got me for Valentine’s Day.

What really got me was that he color co-ordinated the pot with the color he knew I was painting the shelving unit in. He pointed it out to me when he gave it to me and told me the considerations that had gone into picking that particular orchid. That’s my man!

And here’s the current mess that the room is right now. I really need to fold that basket of laundry.

Don’t forget to check out the progress that my fellow One Room Challenge bloggers have made! Can’t wait to see the final results of their rooms next week!

Saved by Suzy
Nicole Scott Designs
Kim Macumber Interiors
Rue de Emily
The Pink Pagoda
refresheddesigns
Nana Moon Shop
Taylor Morgan Design
Insideways
My Crafty Home Life
House Four
Living Savvy
(A Lifestyle Thing)

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2012 10:04 pm

    Don’t be hard on yourself. All goals like this are in pencil…not pen. I love the fabrics you are looking at. The colors are fresh. I can’t wait to see whatever progress you make next week. One step is one step closer.

  2. February 15, 2012 10:11 pm

    I have been feeling the same way about my room, my list for it is still a mile long including painting the ceiling which I wont get to until after the challenge is over, I’m sure. Your chairs are adorable. I love the black. What a sweet husband! He actually noticed a color you are using in the room… mine is not so observant. :)

  3. February 15, 2012 11:23 pm

    Your chairs look great! And lucky you to have an observant, thoughtful husband! That’s exciting that you’re learning to drive. And I’m sure none of us will complete every idea or goal on our rooms. I know I won’t!

  4. February 15, 2012 11:45 pm

    Totally agree, I’m not getting to everything on my list either, but still happy with the progress. just think how much sweeter your Ikea trip will be when you finally get there:) I also love the black chairs, they are going to rock on long after this challenge so keep doing painting them slowly and correctly at the exact pace that fits your life!! See you next week! I love what you’re Mr. Man did for Valentines day…so sweet!

  5. February 15, 2012 11:57 pm

    Oh Jaydn, I feel your frustration! I’m feeling like a bit of a failure too – I’m not going to be able to finish all of the plans I had :(. Janet wrote about some of the same feelings, so I think we’re not alone. I say, we feel great about the progress we’ve made and embrace the huge changes? :)

  6. February 16, 2012 12:36 am

    Years ago, before I was married, I had a roommate that did her bedroom and bathroom in those colors. I’ve loved them together ever since! You’ll get it done. It looks like you’ve already done a lot of wonderful work :)
    Blessings,
    Marcia

  7. February 16, 2012 2:53 am

    Hey, any progress is good progress. Your chairs and bookshelf are looking great! And I love that he color coordinated the pot…so sweet and thoughtful!

  8. February 16, 2012 9:39 am

    I still think you have accomplished quite a bit even if you didn’t make it over to Ikea, though I am loving those prints. Good luck on your driving lessons!

  9. February 16, 2012 10:07 am

    I love that your husband put such thought into your flowers for VD! So sweet! Don’t be too hard on yourself…goals are just that…goals….If you finish your room this year you are ahead of most people! Love the chairs!

  10. February 17, 2012 2:28 pm

    I think getting started is half the battle, and you’ve done that. Even if you don’t finish on time, you’ll still finish! And it will look amazing regardless!

  11. February 17, 2012 6:37 pm

    what a fabulous idea! You’ll get there, have faith. It will all fall into place. Can’t wait to see the end result!
    happiness…
    dannelle@nestenterprises

Trackbacks

  1. One Room Challenge // Week 6: Finale! « Dutch.British.Love

Leave a Reply

