Skip to content

A Very Dutch Meal: Stamppot

February 9, 2012

Dutch Kale Stamppot

    Stamppot is a Dutch word that means something like Mash Pot. It’s a mix of potatoes and vegetables mashed together, and there are a variety of vegetables you can use in it. Ben loves kale stamppot, so usually that’s what I end up making. This is such a hearty and simple dish to make, perfect for the winter!

    I made a big pot of it and took some into work so my (Canadian) co-workers could have a taste of a real Dutch dish and they liked it!

    I used the recipe from a book called Dutch Cooking Today, but changed one thing: I think kale can end up tasting yucky when it’s cooked too long so I like to steam it separately for just a few minutes. I also like to add flavor by sauteeing it in a bit of olive oil or butter with diced garlic before mixing it in with the mashed potatoes.

  • Curly Kale ‘Stamppot’

1 1/2 kg/1 lb floury potatoes, peeled & cut into pieces
1 onions, peeled & chopped
600 g/20 oz trimmed and cleaned curly kale, finely chopped
1 bay leaf
salt & freshly ground pepper
1 smoked sausage (350 g/12 oz)
150 ml/5 fl oz milk
25 g/1 oz butter

Put the potatoes, onions, curly kale (as mentioned above, I leave the kale out and steam it separately) and bay leaf with seasoning in a large pan. Add just enough water to cover the bottom of the pan and cook about 25 minutes on a low heat until cooked.

Meanwhile simmer the sausage for about 25 minutes in water, or follow the directions on the package. Remove the bay leaf from the pan, drain the vegetables and mash them finely.

Heat the milk and butter and stir through the potato and curly kale mash until smooth. If necessary, season with salt and pepper. Slice the sausage and arrange on top of the ‘stamppot’.

I hope you liked hearing about an authentic Dutch meal! If you try it out, let me know what you think!
 
Also, here’s something I’ve been meaning to do:

I was given the Liebster award by the lovely and hilarious Courtney Lane.


This award is given to a blogger with less than 200 followers and is a fantastic way to promote and encourage new friendships within the blogging community. I was honored to be given this by Courtney, whose blog I love! She is an interior design student with a great eye and a great sense of humor.

This is how it works:

1. Post the award on your blog.
2. Show your thanks to the blogger who gave
you the award by linking back to them.
3. Reveal your 5 picks for the award and let them know.
4. Bask in the love from the most supportive people in the blogosphere… other bloggers.
5. Finally, the best rule of all, have fun and spread the love!

Here are my picks…these blogs inspire me and I always love seeing what they’re up to! I will say that it was HARD to just pick 5, but here they are:

1. Lisa at Elembee Etc..
2. Tori at One Eleven .
3. Jessamie at Bird and Branch Redesign.
4. Stephanie at Cre8tive Designs.
5. Chrystina at Chrystina Noel.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2012 10:57 am

    That looks delicious! Never had anything like it. We’ll have to give it at try!

  2. February 9, 2012 4:02 pm

    Thank you so much Jadyn, so sweet of you! And I will definitely have to try making a stamppot, looks and sounds delicious!

  3. February 9, 2012 11:19 pm

    Okay Jadyn this looks scrumptious! I just purchased some homemade sausage so I will definitely have to try this! And thank you for the award! It means a lot : )

  4. February 10, 2012 1:10 pm

    Hello Jadyn,

    I pinned this because I love Kale and my husband is from a dutch family (his dad immigrated from Friesland, his Mom is first generation Canadian) — they eat a version of this called boerenkool (sp??). My husband calls any one-pot, mashed together, meal a stampoot.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog and for your comments. I really enjoy Francine Rivers and the Mark of the Lion Series is one of my favourites! My blog is just a simple family record and I only post when the moment strikes :) Totally boring compared to your beautiful blog! I have been so inspired by your posts, photos and links. I even began a bit of a ‘redo’ in the master bedroom ( if new lamps and newly framed wedding vows count as a redo, haha — there’s still lots to do!).
    Motherhood is a crazy, wonderful journey and your little one will be so blessed to grow up in a home so inspired! And then you’ll become addicted to the world of design for children — haha (have you discovered teh family section of apartment therapy? http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/family).
    So glad to have discovered your blog (via Coutney Lane’s Blog — when I saw the words Dutch (my husband and his family) and British (my grandfather) I had to click :) And then to discover you were in Canada — even cooler! We live in the Ottawa area.
    Take care!
    Vanessa

  5. pap permalink
    February 11, 2012 1:08 am

    krijg trek om bij je te eten, heb je mijn spruitjes gerecht al?

    liefs, je pap

  6. February 13, 2012 3:39 pm

    Will have to try this. I love one-pot meals because they are convenient, can be time-saving, and are delicious. Thank you!

  7. ChrystinaNoel permalink
    February 13, 2012 10:15 pm

    Ahhh!! Thank you so much! I’ve been so behind on reading blogs – but I finally found it! So honored.

  8. November 9, 2012 7:32 am

    I just happened upon your blog and was attracted to the “Dutch” part as I’m married to a Dutch guy who’s parents came from Holland in the 50’s. I ,also live 20 min. away from you.
    Stampot has been a fav here as well. We love it with carrots, or sauerkraut, or kale. And smoked sausage on the side. I’ve also learned to make croquettes from my MIL. I’ve made some other wonderful Dutch meals with the help of Kay from a Dutch food blog, Kayotic Kitchen and dessert from the Dutch Bakers Daughter blog.
    I see you haven’t been posting so I’m assuming the arrival of your baby is imminent or has already taken place. May God bless you and your little family!

    • November 9, 2012 5:06 pm

      Hi Irma!

      Thank you for your lovely comment! I will check out the Dutch food blogs you mentioned, thanks for sharing those. And, yes, you are right, the arrival of our little one is imminent – we are counting down. :)

      Thanks again for stopping by my blog! Blessings to you and your family as well!

      Jadyn

Leave a Reply

