Skip to content

One Room Challenge // Week 4

February 8, 2012

Today is week 4 of the One Room Challenge and things are progressing sloooowly over here. But I did get something done that I’m pretty happy with!

But first, thank you so much for all the input on color vs. neutral on the shelves in the comments. Much like I was hoping, everyone seemed to be in favor of color. And when Linda reminded me that it is just paint and I can always paint over it, I was convinced.

I picked up a few sample pots at Lowe’s. They were on sale for $0.98 each so I got a few. I am loving green at the moment and I picked up samples of three (only slightly different) greens.

And a pot of purple.

I really like the green, but I like the purple a lot too and it reads a bit more neutral which I like. Ben really prefers the purple, so that makes the choice easy – purple it is.

I wanted to add a chalk board and remembered that I had this sitting in storage, it was given to me by someone who was moving and wanted to get rid of it. It had a few nicks in it that I filled with wood filler, and I coated it with two coats of chalkboard paint. Since it was a small and super quick project I decided to spray paint inside with the windows open. I hate fumes, but thankfully they dissipated fairly quickly with the windows open. (It was pretty cold, but no pain no gain right?)

I have it propped up against the wall for now and will hang it later, I’m trying to decide whether to hang it against the wall with the windows or the one I have it leaning up against right now.

I had fun drawing on it…

And as always, be sure to check out fellow One Room Challenge bloggers, I LOVE seeing the progress on their rooms each week! They have great ideas!

Saved by Suzy
Trapped in North Jersey
Nicole Scott Designs
Kim Macumber Interiors
Rue de Emily
The Pink Pagoda
refresheddesigns
Nana Moon Shop
Taylor Morgan Design
Insideways
My Crafty Home Life
House Four
Living Savvy
(A Lifestyle Thing)

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2012 4:53 pm

    Love how you re-purpose items. That chalk board is so neat!

  2. February 8, 2012 4:58 pm

    I love the chalk chandelier! What a great idea for an old print.
    Can’t wait to see the purple. I think it’s going to be fabulous :)

  3. February 8, 2012 5:58 pm

    Such a cute chalk chandelier! I wish I could draw that well. :)

  4. February 8, 2012 6:07 pm

    I love the chalk chandelier as well – great idea!

  5. February 8, 2012 7:20 pm

    I would have never thought to chalkboard paint an old print. I have just the thing in mind now — thanks! I’ve been wanting to chalkboard paint something.

  6. February 8, 2012 8:03 pm

    Awesome chalk chandelier!!

  7. February 8, 2012 8:48 pm

    Clever re-purposing! And an adorable chandelier!

  8. February 9, 2012 12:33 am

    Ha, I never would have chalkboard painted over an old print, either! So smart. I am digging the purple. It is looking good.

  9. February 9, 2012 3:23 pm

    So crafty Jadyn! And I see your chairs are almost there!! It’s so much work huh!?! All those spindles…. But they are going to be so amazing when you’re done! keep it up!!

  10. February 9, 2012 3:30 pm

    I do like the purple better, too…

  11. February 11, 2012 12:19 am

    Yay for purple! I love the chalk board too :). Progress has been slow on my end too, but I know we’ll all finish in time!

  12. February 13, 2012 6:01 am

    Looking good. LOve the chalkboard. My room is slow too. I thought 6 weeks would be plenty of time and now I’m crunching big time. Can’t wait to see it come together. It will!:)

Trackbacks

  1. One Room Challenge // Week 5 « Dutch.British.Love

Leave a Reply

