Skip to content

One Room Challenge // Week 3

February 1, 2012

Today is week 3 of the One Room Challenge, and to be honest I am starting to wonder what I have gotten myself into.

Here are our dining room chairs in different stages of being painted:

I could have saved myself considerable time and effort by doing this later in the year and using sprayable primer and my paint sprayer for the latex paint outside. As it is, I am painting inside with the windows open, so spray painting is out of the question.

I do find painting with a brush in hand quite relaxing and getting into all the little grooves on these chairs and painting each of the spindles individually is a labor of love – however, the emphasis is somewhat on labor!

Here is one of the black chairs with one coat of paint and before I flipped it over to paint the bottom of the legs. And this is what makes it worth it in the end: I LOVE how it looks. The black makes the chairs look so much more elegant, instantly.

Ben likes it too. He came home last night and exclaimed: “Oh wow, I like it. It looks decent!” (He is English, after all, that was his way of saying: “Oh wow, I love it! It looks amazing!.”)

One word about paint coverage: I so appreciated hearing from a couple of you about using dark primer underneath dark paint. It’s so true that this would be helpful! However, since I am doing this on a shoe-string budget, I wanted to save my pennies for other purchases and since I already had a pot of white primer sitting around, I decided to go ahead and just keep going with it.

I have to say, I was also pleasantly surprised by the coverage of the paint. It’s by Glidden and this is how it looks after one coat. (The brush strokes actually show up more in the photo, they’re not as noticeable in real life.)

Underneath is one part of the chair where I brushed on a second coat of paint (again the brush strokes are not that noticeable in reality) and I think two coats will be all I need, which is what I was hoping for. Phew!

Thank you so much to everyone who left comments on last week’s post about the fabrics! A lot of you liked the striped fabric and I’m pretty sure I will end up using that for the blinds. Some of you suggested I use both, and I think that I might use the flower fabric on the inside of the shelving unit.

I want to paint the outside Sherwin Williams Proper Gray, which is similar to the gray on the walls, but a touch darker.

But I am also tempted to make it more colorful and pick one of the color from the fabric and use that – like purple or green.

Do you think I should keep it neutral or add more color?

Be sure to check out fellow One Room Challenge bloggers, I love seeing the progress on their rooms each week! They have great ideas!

Saved by Suzy
Trapped in North Jersey
Nicole Scott Designs
Kim Macumber Interiors
Rue de Emily
The Pink Pagoda
refresheddesigns
Nana Moon Shop
Taylor Morgan Design
Insideways
My Crafty Home Life
House Four
Living Savvy
(A Lifestyle Thing)

17 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2012 1:32 pm

    Your chairs look fantastic! And I do know how time consuming that is! Your room will be gorgeous!

  2. February 1, 2012 1:37 pm

    The chairs will look great! I know what you mean about these winter painting projects though…would be nice if we could be outside!
    I love the idea of having that colourful fabric inside the shelving unit. I think I’d go lighter for the outside paint colour though. One of the colours from the fabric? Or even white to go with your trim?

  3. ChrystinaNoel permalink
    February 1, 2012 2:01 pm

    The chairs look great. As for the colors, if you’re going to have a lot of colorful accessories in the room, I think you can get away with a neutral color. Or even color seat cushions? You could just paint one wall as an accent wall. Actually, I have a friend who painted the inside of her window frames recently and that looks pretty awesome. (the part that connects the window pane of glass to the frame on the wall, so the part perpendicular to that.. I’m still not sure I’m making sense) Good luck!!

  4. February 1, 2012 2:14 pm

    Love those black chairs. Definitely more elegant.

  5. February 1, 2012 2:19 pm

    The chairs look great! And I think you should go for more color for the shelves — would be so cute with that fabric!

  6. February 1, 2012 2:23 pm

    Chairs looking Great!!! Good Job!

  7. February 1, 2012 4:21 pm

    It’s only paint…go for the color. The chairs will be worth it, hang in there.

  8. February 1, 2012 5:42 pm

    Looking good! I love the dark paint colour. Getting closer!

  9. February 1, 2012 9:14 pm

    Jadyn, I love that you’re HAND painting the chairs. The sweet, intensive labor PLUS the look of it is over and above the look of spray paint and all it entails as far as fumes and hand massacre…. in my opinion. These chairs are so stinkin’ cute! Go for color on shelves. Love what you’re doing. And, by the way, your pictures of you are too adorable too!

  10. February 1, 2012 11:05 pm

    The chairs rock! I like them much more in black! I hate painting furniture, but it is worth it in the end!

  11. February 2, 2012 6:48 am

    Good for you that you took this on inside!! I generally do all my painting in the spring and summer for the same reasons. But the hand painted actually looks nicer to me!! Love the black and Ben’s reaction made me smile!! “Decent” from a husband is a good thing!!

  12. February 2, 2012 7:11 pm

    I love the black on the chairs and I know what you mean about painting being relaxing…until you have a BIG project and then the emphasis is on the labor part. Looking forward to the progress you make next week!

  13. February 3, 2012 12:52 am

    The chairs are looking FABULOUS! I find painting really relaxing too, but I can totally sympathise with feeling over a project that takes a long time! All I can say is worth it. They’re just looking so so so good!

  14. February 3, 2012 5:28 pm

    That is a lot of work and you have done a great job so far..I am impressed. I would love to see the bookshelf painted..green would look great against the grey walls but I would go with the gorgeous plum/purple..a more modern look.

  15. February 4, 2012 3:59 am

    Oh painting, so much fun. Lance and I painted two of our dining room chairs a couple of summers ago and still need to get around to other other two… We spray painted though. I can imagine that hand painting must take a wee bit longer :)

  16. February 5, 2012 2:48 am

    So elegant, weel done!

Trackbacks

  1. One Room Challenge // Week 5 « Dutch.British.Love

Leave a Reply

