Skip to content

IDS12

January 30, 2012

One of the first booths at the Interior Design Show in Toronto had these chairs backed with butterfly fabric, very pretty don’t you think?

One area I was eager to explore is where the indie designers and artisans show their stuff.

At the top right, you can see a wallpaper by Mushaboom. It’s inspired by the Victorian gardens in Halifax where the designer likes to go for walks. I really liked that colorful, painted branch too.

There were lots of booths at the show, some more interesting than others but here are some of the things that got my attention.

Painted pillow.

The checkered bedding with striped wallpaper panels are fun, and so is the ceramic deer head.

The UpCountry booth reminded me of a mix between Ben Sherman and Restoration Hardware and I mean that in a good way. I love that leather bed.

One of the fun things of the Interior Design show for me, is that I get to see and touch things in person that I normally only see in magazines. Coming from a small city with no high-end interior design stores whatsoever, it was really fun to have this experience. I always admire things by ELTE in magazines and their booth was one of my favorites.

I like the black walls with the soft, pretty rug.

The colors of this rug are so beautiful, it’s made from recycled saris and it is incredibly soft to the touch. I can only imagine how nice it would be to walk on barefoot!

There were lots of pretty details in the booth.

Beautiful patterns and vivid colors on these woollen blankets made in Norway.

There was something that was almost like an art installation with different rooms that you could walk through. The table top of this table had running water flowing over it which was pretty cool.

This one was an installation meant to express the creative process, with parts of it symbolizing the memory, the subconscious and the conscious mind that puts it all together.

Products imported from Africa, beautiful objects and fabrics. I like the mirror with shells.

And then there was the talk by Aaron Hoey, the General Merchandise Manager at Anthropologie. Here, he is explaining about how they gather their inspiration around the world and then work with their designers to design the fabrics and products. Most of their fabrics used for their home products are designed in-house, and he talked about the fact that they have a large travel budget to gather all the inspiration from around the world in order to create them.

I always love hearing about the inspiration that sparked and idea, and his talk was ALL about that. He talked a mile a minute about travelling, meeting artists and sharing how certain things turned into products. He said that one of the things they’re inspired by a lot is food, and he meant that quite literally. For example, the way this orange was presented sparked an idea for a bowl that was created and sold in stores later.

He also showed a photo similar to this one and said this is what sparked the idea for using lots of pom poms for their Christmas display one year.

{Image source here}

After his talk, I wanted to jump on a plane and travel the world…buuut even more I wanted to look around me with wide open eyes and draw inspiration from what I see around me, and make it into beautiful things.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2012 2:07 am

    What an entertaining post. I love everything but in particular the sari rug and the norwegian blankets: colour everywhere!
    You are right, the little chairs are absolutely stunning with the butterflies in the back.

  2. January 31, 2012 9:00 am

    I have to leave a comment. My name is Andrew Metrick. Elte was founded by my great grandfather. It’s very possible that we met at IDS because I was working the Elte booth all weekend. Anyway, I wanted to thank you for the kind words about our store and our booth. Coming from a family business, it really does mean a lot when people take notice to what we work so hard to achieve. It sounds like you had an amazing time. I had a blast. We uploaded photos of our booth on Facebook yesterday so hopefully you get a chance to have a look (www.facebook.com/elte). Thanks once again and all the best!

  3. ChrystinaNoel permalink
    January 31, 2012 10:29 am

    Great pictures – looks like a blast! I unfortunately missed the Philadelphia Home Show a few weeks ago – life got too busy. Hopefully more cool things like this will pop up throughout the year. My next big show that I’m looking forward to is the Stationery Show in NYC in May…

  4. January 31, 2012 12:44 pm

    So much to love here! The stripes and checkered definitely caught my eye though I would never have paired them together. And I have a thing for clocks so I’m loving that as well.

  5. January 31, 2012 1:40 pm

    Yay, I’m so glad you showed pics from the show! I was hoping you would. I looove that rug made out of recycled saris. Whoa. And that grouping of silhouettes. Thanks for sharing, girl! Looks like you got some good inspiration :)

    Courtney Lane

  6. January 31, 2012 2:19 pm

    So much goodness, looks like an amazing day! I love those chairs, and it was fascinating to see some of the inspiration behind Anthropologie.

  7. January 31, 2012 9:30 pm

    What a great experience! Love hearing about the Anthropologie inspirations.

  8. January 31, 2012 9:42 pm

    Looks like it was great! Glad to see so much colour and texture! Great review Jadyn!

  9. February 1, 2012 10:48 am

    Oh my gosh, such eye candy here! I bet you were on stimulation over load when you left. I have re-read your post twice now, just to absorb it all. The way Anthropologie gets their inspiration is an inspiration for us all! I think you liked the leather bed because of the flag above it :) Great post Jadyn, it was if I was there with you.

Leave a Reply

