Skip to content

One Room Challenge // Week 2

January 25, 2012

Today is week 2 of the One Room Challenge! Here are a few inspiration photos for our dining room that inspired me to paint our dining room chairs black:

Love the chalkboard wall in this one too! I won’t do a wall in ours, but I might do something with a chalkboard…

{Via Plush Palate}

This photo is so beautiful and seeing how great those black windsor chairs look in a light room convinced me to bring out the black paint.

{Via Sanctuary}

So far, I’ve put wood fuiller on some dents and scratches in the seats and I’m working on coating them all in primer. I wonder how many coats of black paint it’s gonna take me to get an even color…I’ll let you know when I get there!

And here are a couple of fabrics that I am looking at for the room:

This one has that watercolor look that I love, as well as flowers and the right colors.


IKEA GULLAN BLOM
fabric

This one reminds me of Kate Spade’s hallway. (See my post from last week here.)

IKEA SOFIA fabric

Which one is your favorite?

Be sure to check out the other talented ladies who are doing this challenge!

Saved by Suzy
Dutch.British.Love
Trapped in North Jersey
Nicole Scott Designs
Kim Macumber Interiors
Rue de Emily
The Pink Pagoda
refresheddesigns
Nana Moon Shop
Taylor Morgan Design
Insideways
My Crafty Home Life
House Four
Living Savvy
(A Lifestyle Thing)

19 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2012 9:10 pm

    I’m a big fan of the striped fabric, but they both look great! PS priming is my absolute least favorite part of painting… I’m so bad and I skip it sometimes, but it’s always worth it. Way to do it right!!

  2. ChrystinaNoel permalink
    January 25, 2012 9:54 pm

    I second Jen and vote for the striped fabric, but do like them both. I think that picture from the last post had an effect on me – oh, Kate Spade.

  3. January 25, 2012 10:20 pm

    I love them both! Can’t wait to see what you do!

  4. January 25, 2012 10:47 pm

    Your fabrics are fab! It helps to use a tinted primer when painting a dark colour like red or black so that your paint covers better. Looking forward to seeing what you choose!

  5. January 25, 2012 11:30 pm

    Love your chairs! I’d go for the striped fabric.

  6. January 25, 2012 11:39 pm

    You can’t go wrong with Kate Spade inspired fabric, but I absolutely love that floral — the colors! Gorgeous.

  7. January 26, 2012 12:45 am

    I think I love the stripe although the other fabric is fresh and whimsical. I love your idea about black chairs!

  8. January 26, 2012 9:22 am

    I love the stripes – so preppy!

  9. January 26, 2012 10:18 am

    Those chairs are going to look great. What’s the fabric for? I would use both :)
    As for Saturday, I am shooting portraits in the morning, likely until 1. Does that cancel out the coffee option? If not, maybe send me an email.

  10. January 26, 2012 10:28 am

    I love the watercolor fabric with all the different colors…you can pull from this palette if you choose. Look forward to seeing the completed chairs.

  11. January 26, 2012 10:28 am

    Thought I was following you from last week but I cannot seem to see that I am so now signing up for email posts. :)

  12. January 26, 2012 10:40 am

    Loving those green stripes!

  13. January 26, 2012 12:04 pm

    Have you started painting the chairs yet?! If not, WAIT! prime them with a gray primer. so so much better for black or navy projects.

  14. January 26, 2012 2:09 pm

    Oh MAN, I love that watercolor fabric, and it would have been PERFECT for my dining room if I hadn’t already bought fabric yesterday. *dramatic sigh*

    I vote you use the watercolor fabric. Or both. They are really pretty.

    I think the black is going to look lovely on the chairs.

  15. January 26, 2012 5:09 pm

    That chalkboard wall is a dream. We have a chalkboard wall in my church, it’s so useful! Ps: picked you for the Liebster Blog Award today! It’s in the bottom of my most recent post! :)

  16. January 27, 2012 9:08 am

    This is fun! What a great idea! I should probably do this. Or finish the room I started a few months ago…

  17. January 28, 2012 2:57 am

    I am in favour of using both, I think that they nicely complement each other.
    And black chairs, wow!

  18. January 28, 2012 9:05 am

    I like the idea of using both too – they’re both so pretty!
    I think your chairs will look fabulous in black. Can’t wait to see them finished.

Trackbacks

  1. One Room Challenge // Week 5 « Dutch.British.Love

Leave a Reply

