Skip to content

Quick Project: Sheet Music & Glitter Heart

January 24, 2012

A few months ago, I found this frame among a pile of things my neighbors had put outside to get rid of.

I wanted to fill it with something and I was inspired by Holly at Life in the Fun Lane to do a quick project involving paper and glitter.

I took some sheet music and gave it more aged look by dyeing it with tea.

I then glued it onto a backing (cardboard from a cereal box in this case) and made a heart template out of paper. I put the template on top of the paper and applied Mod Podge, working from the outside in so the glue wouldn’t leak. Then I sprinkled glitter on top.

A little fun fact: The sheet music is of “My Favorite Things” from The Sound of Music – my favorite movie when I was little. I just went to the Sound of Music Sing-a-Long show which was a lot of fun! I actually teared up a bit when belting out My Favorite Things along with the rest of the audience – it brought me back to being a child and watching the Sound of Music with my parents and sister, being so enthralled by the story. Ah, memories…

I hope you’re having a good week!

Linking up here

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2012 7:55 am

    I have some frames lying about waiting to be transformed – this is a perfect project. You’ve really inspired me – thank you!!

    Sarahx

  2. January 25, 2012 11:56 am

    That is absolutely adorable! U would have never thought of that! Havent heard from you in a bit hope all is well!

  3. January 25, 2012 1:58 pm

    Very pretty! I love the aged feel! And “My favorite things” is one of my favorite songs : )

  4. January 25, 2012 8:13 pm

    I love this idea! I have tons of sheet music just waiting to be turned into art.

    We watched Sound of Music over Christmas, and I totally teared up when the family was singing on the stage about to make their exit. I love that movie!

  5. ChrystinaNoel permalink
    January 25, 2012 9:00 pm

    I also really like this idea! Did you play an instrument?

  6. January 28, 2012 2:58 am

    How simple and pretty.

  7. January 31, 2012 1:10 pm

    Beautiful!! I LOVE that you used music from My Favorite things! I loved Sound of Music growing up as well!

    I’m pinning this great idea and tutorial! Thanks for linking up to the Take it on Tuesday blog hop!!

  8. February 1, 2012 12:03 am

    What a cute idea! Love it!

Trackbacks

  1. Take it on Tuesday blog hop #15: Valentine’s Day beginnings « Romance on a Dime

Leave a Reply

