Skip to content

15 Things Before 30

January 21, 2012

I was watching New Girl yesterday (do you watch that show?) and it was about Nicks birthday party – he mentions in the beginning of the episode that this one is important to him because he is turning 29 and it’s the LAST YEAR OF HIS TWENTIES…! Well, I realized (not for the first time) that I am already there…well into my 29th (8 months to be precise ) and only 4 months away from the big 3-0.

I’ve seen people do 30 before 30 (30 things they want to do before they turn 30). However, since I am kind of late into the year but still thought it would be fun to make a list, I am doing 15. None of these are earth-shattering or even particularly adventurous, but they are things that I’d like to look back on in 4 months and say: Yes, I did that. So here it is:

1 Sew a piece of clothing (top or skirt). Back in Holland, my aunt taught me to sew, but I haven’t sewn a piece of clothing since I came to Canada. I bought a sewing machine a few years back but it’s mostly been used for hemming jeans. I really want to tackle some simple & fun projects with it. I think one piece of clothing should be a good start!
2 Finish my interior decorating certification. I’d like to send in my last assignments by the end of April and hopefully (if I pass) that means I’ll graduate by May!
3 Register my business.
4 Get my driver’s license. Yes, it’s time. I’ve been taking lessons and I should have my license by February. Can’t wait!
5 Sew a heart-shaped pillow. I’ve started on a hear-shaped pillow for my study, but have yet to finish it.
6 Make my own roman blinds. A step up in the handmade, sewing projects. I just like the idea of tacking this myself and making blinds out of a piece of fabric. There is such satisfaction in making something with your very own hands!
7 Open an Etsy store. Not that I don’t have enough on my plate already, but I’ve had this idea in my head for a side/hobby business where I could just direct any leftover creative energy I will have to. I am not sure how it will go and whether it will last, but I will set up that store and see where it goes!
8 Host a dinner party. While we occasionally have people over for dinner, we haven’t hosted anything that could qualify as a dinner party.
9 Go for a wine tasting at a winery in the Niagara area (where we live).
10 Go on a road trip. Even if it’s not very far, ideally I’d like to drive with Ben to Washington DC to see my sister. Not sure if that will happen though, I’ll settle for something a little closer to home if need be.
11 Make macaroons. I had them for the first time when visiting my sister in San Francisco and would really like to re-create that experience in my own kitchen!
12 Set up my website. I have an idea for a name for my interior decorating business already and I want to set up the website, even if it’s a starting point.
13 Paint a painting. I have painted furniture but never a painting, perhaps I can handle a small one.
14 Grow tomatoes, basil, oregano, parsley & garlic. I’d like to have all the ingredients for pasta sauce in my backyard!
15 Visit the Distillery District in Toronto. I read about this area in a magazine. There used to be a distillery but was transformed into an area with art galleries, cute shops and cafes. It’s supposed to have an old world feel and I’d really like to visit!

Well, there it is. It sort of looks like a lot now that I’ve typed it all out. Well…I do have four months to get it done – I’ll keep you posted on progress!

Have you ever made a list of things to do before you turn a certain age?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2012 2:52 am

    This is a great list!! Good luck on getting everything done! I’m planning on doing a 30 before 30 list. I still have 1 year and 9 months left, so I’m procrastinating a little longer on making the list. I might glance through your list again when the time is closer…

  2. January 21, 2012 3:43 am

    How exciting, maybe I should write a list of things to do before I turn 60 (in 2013), but 60 things? It is a lot of stuff, perhaps I can have a short list like you.
    One of the things would have to go back to Toronto, where I spent 2 months in 1976 learning English. Everything must be so different now, not that I remember much anyway, but a bisit t the Distillery District would definitely be on the list. Should we go together?

  3. January 21, 2012 7:06 am

    Lots of plans…. en een super goed idee om eens te gaan zitten en kijken wat eigenlijk best belangrijk voor je is ;)
    succes!

  4. January 21, 2012 10:17 am

    That’s an ambitious list but I’m confident you can accomplish them all – you’re so crafty!

  5. January 21, 2012 2:54 pm

    Never settle!!! (#10:)

  6. January 21, 2012 7:26 pm

    I love this idea! And how exciting that you want to start your own interior decorating business…yay! That will be perfect for you. Can’t wait to hear updates on your progress on this list girl!

  7. January 21, 2012 9:21 pm

    What a fantastic list!

    I’ve been to the Distillery District in Toronto and had some of the most amazing hot chocolate there. I’ve also been to a wine tasting in Niagara. That’s where I tasted ice wine for the first time. Definitely worth it!

    Can’t wait to see how your list goes over the next few months!

  8. January 21, 2012 11:39 pm

    All of these are possible! Good luck with the adventure of it.

  9. January 22, 2012 2:02 pm

    Great list, can’t wait to see your progress!

  10. ChrystinaNoel permalink
    January 22, 2012 5:17 pm

    This is an awesome (and ambitious) list – good luck with it!! Also – if you drive to DC you should definitely stop in Philadelphia on the way – because it’s pretty awesome with great food.

  11. February 1, 2012 10:44 am

    Get your driver’s license? That I didn’t know! I couldn’t survive without a driver’s license around here, that is going to open up your world so much! This is an ambitious list, and I know that you will so your best to accomplish it. What I love about this list, is that pretty much none of it requires a boat load of cash, it is more a list to improve yourself and experience things.

Trackbacks

  1. Lately… « Dutch.British.Love

Leave a Reply

