Skip to content

Roomology

January 18, 2012

Roomology – A series where I take a room and break it down into different elements. It is helpful to learn a way of looking at a photo of a room so you can pinpoint what it is that speaks to you. This will help you translate your inspiration into your own space. I am simply sharing some of my own thoughts on the room – what I choose to high-light might be different from what you see in it!

Source: tumblr.com via Jadyn on Pinterest

{Source of photo: Mille Notti}

Colours: Mostly white and gray. Brown (from the photos, frames, books and coffee table) and gold (from frames) which add warmth. Blue and green accents from the book covers and plant. Black accents from accessories (and the very cute dog!).

Materials: Cotton, wood, metal (lamp), paper.

Shapes: Mostly rectangular (the pillows, headboard, books, coffee table, frames).

Patterns: Subtle gray on white stripe on the bedding.

Art: Photos (black and white and muted warm colors that match the colors in the rest of the room). Children’s drawing. Alpha and Omega shaped objects on stack of books on the coffee table. Books piled up on the coffee table.

This room looks so fresh and calming! I like how they’ve added warmth with the accents and the informal styling – it looks anything but stark. The children’s drawing up in the gallery wall between the photos is such a sweet touch!

Have a lovely day!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2012 6:41 am

    I love those striped pillows and the gallery wall! I’ve been wanting to try something like this on my wall for a while now!

  2. January 18, 2012 10:45 am

    I love this room so much!! It looks so cozy.

  3. January 18, 2012 2:39 pm

    I have to say, all rooms look better with a sleepy dog in them. :)

  4. January 18, 2012 6:44 pm

    I fell for the smiling upside down dog at first glance :). I can’t tell you how many times I come across ours this way! I also love the composition/organization of the photographs. You pick really lovely rooms!

Leave a Reply

