Skip to content

One Room Challenge // Week 1

January 18, 2012

Linda from My Crafty Home Life invited me to participate in a challenge where we 15 of us take one room and transform it in six weeks. We will be posting on Wednesday for the next six weeks about progress on the room, and share our ideas, projects, projects and, hopefully, smashing results (and cpossibly challenges along the way). So much fun!

The room I’ll be working on is our dining room/area. It is in between our living room and kitchen, this is the view from the living room:

Dining Room

I love working at the dining room table and this is why – large windows on the south-side of the house let in lots of light:

The shelving unit to the left came with the house. I really want to paint it, but it’s been one of those projects that have been on the backburner (but not anymore!).

I like the laid-back but classic country style that windsor chairs and the round table add. However I’d like to paint the chairs black and do something to the table too – I’m not 100% sure what to do with it yet…I’ll have to make up my mind once I start working on it.

The built-in is one of those original features of the house that we love so much. It could do with some more styling though – it looks rather bare!

When I thought about inspiration, I narrowed it down to 3 specific things.

Ever since I wrote about 5 things I like about Kate Spade’s house, I have not stopped thinking about her house. I love the mix of colors and she also has gray walls in one of her rooms which looks similar to our gray. These green stripes in her hallway are also on my mind:

Another inspiration is not interior-related, but rather botanical, more specifically tulips. Here I am cradling a tulip in my hands on a visit back home to Holland. Tulips come in so many colors, from intense purple to fresh yellow, as well as pinks and reds…there is such an array of colors to choose from. I want a sense of freshness and a mix of colors.

A third thing that came to mind was watercolors – I love sheer colors and the way colors overlap in a watercolor.

If you wonder how I plan to translate this inspiration into a room, you’ll just have to read along. :)

Be sure to also stop by the other bloggers participating in this challenges, I’ve read some of the posts and they are GREAT. Can’t wait to read the others later tonight when I have time!

Saved by Suzy
Dutch.British.Love
Trapped in North Jersey
Nicole Scott Designs
Kim Macumber Interiors
Rue de Emily
The Pink Pagoda
refresheddesigns
Nana Moon Shop
Taylor Morgan Design
Insideways
My Crafty Home Life
House Four
Living Savvy
(A Lifestyle Thing)

17 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2012 9:50 pm

    I love your inspirations! I never saw that post about Kate’s house…I must go and check it out. Can’t wait to see what you decide.

  2. January 18, 2012 10:20 pm

    I really like the painted branch hanging above your table. I saw that in a few shops this Christmas and wanted to do it. I was too much of a chicken though, I wasn’t sure I could pull it off.

  3. January 18, 2012 11:24 pm

    How awesome! I loved watching your entryway transform over the 31 Days challenge — can’t wait to see what you do with your dining room!

  4. January 18, 2012 11:49 pm

    A dining room is such a wonderful room to makeover. I just did mine and had so much fun. I love the pic of you in the tulip bed!

  5. January 19, 2012 12:19 am

    Sounds like it might be the prettiest dining room around! Maybe think about just painting the legs and apron of your table to give it a lift? Can’t wait to see it all come together. All the best!

  6. January 19, 2012 1:16 am

    Yay for dining room re-designs!! I’m especially excited to see how you style the built-in and upgrade your dining table and chairs :)

  7. January 19, 2012 3:59 am

    Hi Jadyn. Can’t wait to see what you do with your dining room. Love the light you get in there. Your inspirations are lovely too! ENJOy this ride!!

    xx
    sharon

  8. January 19, 2012 9:32 am

    What a fun project! I’m excited to see how it all turns out!
    If I was to do one room it would be our bedroom. I am starting it slowly, but there are so many things to make and buy that I’m giving myself the year, lol.

  9. January 19, 2012 9:58 am

    LOVE those green stripes too. Can’t wait to see what you do with it.

  10. January 19, 2012 1:34 pm

    Great room to work with, but tricky with two others connected to it! Love your inspirations, especially the watercolours. And I can’t wait to see how your table and chairs turn out. Good luck!

  11. January 19, 2012 10:13 pm

    I’ll be checking in with you to see your progress! Can’t wait!

  12. ChrystinaNoel permalink
    January 20, 2012 12:05 am

    Sounds like it’s time to create a mood board :)

  13. January 21, 2012 3:45 am

    A nice challenge, I am sure that I will enjoy reading about your new adventure.

  14. January 21, 2012 8:18 am

    Beautiful inspiration . Your dining room is the perfect place to it and create. I look forward to seeing your transformation of the checkered bookcase too. Thank you for linking to the Thursday Favorite Things Blog Hop Linky Party at Katherines Corner. Hugs and smooches and wishes for a wonderful weekend!

  15. January 21, 2012 3:14 pm

    How fun! I cannot wait to see what you decide upon. I am off to google kate spade’s house. I bet I will love it too :)

Trackbacks

  1. One Room Challenge // Week 2 « Dutch.British.Love
  2. One Room Challenge // Week 5 « Dutch.British.Love

Leave a Reply

