Skip to content

How To Create a Collage in Picasa

January 13, 2012

In the comments on my post West Elm Love, Chrystina asked if I’d share how I made the collage. Lately, I’ve been using Picasa and I’ve found it very easy to use for collages. I actually don’t even know many of the ins and outs of Picasa, but don’t worry, you don’t have to figure it all out to have some fun with it!

As an example I decided to do a little product round-up of nature-inspired home office items in a Spring-worthy palette of chartreuse, aqua and green. Here’s how to create a collage in Picasa:

1. Download Picasa if you don’t already have it.

2. Browse websites to find products that you like and that work well together. Download the images onto your computer. (I often take screen shots of the product which on a Mac you do by pressing shift+command+4 simultaneously. Thank you Melissa for teaching me that!)

3. I create a temporary folder on my desktop to collect the images, this makes them easier to find later on.

4. Go into Picasa and on the left side of the screen, you can see your images organized by date or folder. Find the folder that you have saved the images in and click on it.

5. Click on one of your images to select it, then go to the bottom of the screen where you see the image of a green push pin and click on that, this ‘holds’ the image for you. Do this for every image that you want to use in your collage. They will line up in the bottom left on your screen.

6. In the bottom row of icons, click on the icon that says ‘Collage’. Now, at the left you see different options you have for your collage. I selected ‘Product Pile’.

7. Click on any of the images to select them and drag them to wherever you’d like to have them. You can also adjust their size and the angle at which they’re placed. Arrange them until it looks good to you.

8. Now click on ‘Create Collage’ at the left of the screen. This takes you to a different screen where you have several options of editing the collage. To add text, click on ‘Text’ which takes you to the next screen where you can pick a font, size and color for the text you want to add. In the example, I used the Academy Engraved LET font. Simply type your text and drag it to where you want it.

9. When it looks good to you, go to the bottom of the page and click ‘Export’. This will allow you to save it to your computer.

10. And there it is! (If this seems at all complicated, it’s just because I am showing all the steps. In reality it’s pretty easy and self-explanatory once you get started!)

Here are the products I used…Even though I was just creating this to use as an example, I actually really like this little round-up of items!

1. Journal from Target
2. Clover Paperweight from John Derian
3. Ceramic Branch Table Lamp from West Elm
4. Wire & Birch Pencil Cups from Olive Manna
5. Faux Bois Pillow in Beech from Anthropologie (there is a faux bois pattern on the back, so pretty!)

Have fun creating your collage! Let me know if you have any questions or if any of the above is unclear!

Linking up with
Romance on a Dime Take it on Tuesday Bloghop

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2012 1:32 am

    A whole post based on my one comment, I’m so excited!! I’m on my phone right now looking, but I can’t wait to take it to my monitor!! Such a good step by step, thanks!!

  2. January 13, 2012 7:15 am

    Thanks Jadyn! I have always wanted to know how people do this!

  3. January 15, 2012 2:21 pm

    I will have to try this! I am using Olioboard right now, I like it because I can tag pieces I like and they automatically go into my library on Olioboard for future boards to create. But I don’t think I can add text. Great tutorial, thanks Jadyn!

  4. January 17, 2012 12:51 am

    Thanks for sharing this. I’ve been using Picnik, but it looks like Picasa might have more options.
    Have a wonderful week!
    Blessings,
    Marcia

  5. January 18, 2012 12:18 pm

    Thank for you explaining! I’ve been using Polyvore but would love to try this out as well.

  6. January 18, 2012 6:05 pm

    I started using Picasa and figured out the amazing collages one can create..it is addictive and I find myself looking to see what else I can put toward a collage. Great idea to write a post…a lot of people do not know how easy it is. Visiting via Saved by Suzy.

  7. January 19, 2012 1:42 pm

    Nice work – and nice tutorial. Very helpful! I’m pinning this, so I can try it sometime.

    Thanks for sharing this on the Take it on Tuesday blog hop!

Leave a Reply

