Skip to content

Roomology

January 10, 2012

I thought I’d start a regular new series that I’m naming Roomology. It can be so easy to look at lots of pretty photos and still have a hard time to pin down what you really like. By breaking down some of the elements in photos you like, you get an idea of what it is you like about it and you start seeing what you’d like to incorporate into your own environment.

Inspired by The Meghan Method, a book I mentioned in a previous post, I will take a room and analyze some of the elements. I’ll look at a few categories and name some of my favorite parts. What I choose to high-light may be different than what you see in it! I hope you’ll have fun reading along and maybe get a few ideas of your own.

Meredith Heron Design Living Room
{Meredith Heron Design, via HGTV}

Patterns: trellis, stripes, modern/abstract flowers, coral, dots

There are a lot of patterns, but they all have a modern and unfussy vibe.

Textures: velvet, silky, smooth, shiny, fuzzy.

The draperies, throw pillows, table cloth and upholstered stools are made out of fabrics that that have similar, smooth texture. The velvet on the sofa and the low-pile rug add velvety texture. The two chairs look silky and add a bit of shine. The throw pillow on the stool and the feather wreath add fuzzy texture. I have been slightly obsessed with texture lately and really paying attention to different textures everywhere, they are easy to miss sometimes but really add to the feel of the room!

Materials: metal (brass), fabric, lucite/acrylic, wood

The lucite coffee table adds so little visual weight, and the wood is mostly white (except for the think black legs of the chairs) which adds to the airy feel of the room. I like the warmth added by the brass curtain rods, lamp base and chandelier.

Colors: blue-gray, cream, white, coral, light coral, navy, gold

The cool blue-gray and warm coral play off each other nicely.

Art: canvas with handwritten text, feather wreath

I personally love the look of handwritten text! This canvas is so pretty and the feather wreath layered over it looks lovely.

Hope you have a beautiful day!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2012 11:56 am

    The first thing I noticed was the canvas. I love it. The coral and grey blue look beautiful too.

  2. January 10, 2012 12:23 pm

    I love the look of hand written canvas too! Something about it is so endearing! The first thing that caught my eye is that beautiful tablecloth!

  3. January 10, 2012 12:29 pm

    very cool room! love the lighting, chairs and coffee table.

  4. January 10, 2012 2:02 pm

    Love this idea, and the room too! It has a really great mix of patterns, and I love the handwritten canvas.

  5. January 10, 2012 2:13 pm

    My eye went to the faux bamboo chandelier. I also love that rug!

  6. January 10, 2012 3:13 pm

    Great idea to breakdown the room elements. My favourite part of the room is the drapery.

  7. January 10, 2012 9:41 pm

    Jadyn – this is genius. Such a pretty room. The handwritten art reminds me of the furniture you painted in your office. What a great concept.

  8. January 13, 2012 3:29 pm

    Actually, my day has been made more beautiful looking at your lovely site! I’m over from inCourage. Thank you for following me!

  9. ChrystinaNoel permalink
    January 14, 2012 4:16 pm

    The room looks great, but there’s SO much going on, I’m impressed you were able to break it down. Can’t wait to keep reading this series, I think it’s a great idea.

Leave a Reply

