Skip to content

A Year in Review >> Twelve Images from 2011

January 1, 2012


I got this idea from Elsie at A Beautiful Mess to look back at the year by choosing a photo for each month. 2012 was a year full of big life events for Ben and myself and our family. It included job loss for Ben, grieving when my grandmother passed away and life threatening illness for my mom. On the flip side, there was the incredible joy of marriages, a baby and a new business.

In comparison, some of these moments I am remembering from the months that have passed seem trivial, but I blogged about them because they meant something to me. Even the more trivial ones are part of the chain of small and large events that made up my life in the past year. In January, one of these was that we bought a few treasures for our living room and our house started to feel more like our home.


In February I made over a chair and out of the pieces of furniture I’ve done over the year, this one gave me the thrill of taking something from really unattractive to pretty the most.
This is also the month that Ben lost his job and I wrote a post called Thinking about celebrating the moments where we put effort into the things that matter to us even if we don’t know the outcome. At that time, Ben was working hard on writing a business plan to apply for a business loan so he could realize his dream of opening his own video game store. A scary but exhilarating time.


In March, I wrote a few times about the idea of “undecorating” and I started to dig into not only what I was learning in my interior decorating course but developing my own approach and philosophy when it comes to interiors.
This is also when I wrote about my grandmother’s passing.


In April I flew back to Holland for my sister’s wedding. I love my sister and watching her marry the love of her life was amazing.


In May we painted our dining room and we still love the soft grey we chose. I remember wondering how it was going to look in the Winter with grey, overcast days but the grey walls don’t look dreary at all, it looks light and soft and cozy.


In June I finished my bulletin board and it made a good addition to my study. I really like playing around with what I display on there.


In July I flew back to Holland again to attend my cousin Rebekka’s wedding. She didn’t know I was coming and surprising her was something I will never forget.


In August my precious nephew Alexander was born and it was incredible to see him for the first time on Skype and see my sister become a mother.
This was also the month when the business loan came through for Ben and him and his business partner started renovating a space for their video game store The Basement.


In September my friend Marco and I got covered in grape juice when stomping grapes for charity and took home the trophy.
This month Ben opened his store The Basement and we were all so excited that the moment had finally come!


In October I worked on our entry, participated in the 31 Day blogging challenge and overall had a blast changing our entry from a cluttered storage/dumping place to a welcoming space.


In November (well it was October, but I blogged about it in November, shhh don’t tell) I got to meet Alexander and my best memories are of holding him, kissing his cheeks and the top of his head and inhaling his sweet baby smell. I had such a good time with my sister and her family. My other favorite memories are of carrying my 7-year-old niece around, not even holding her but just her clinging to me and walking through the restaurant like that, just laughing together.


In December I participated in a tea swap and making a tea advent wreath is definitely a tradition that I want to hold on to! I love it.

What were some highlights or memorable moments of your year? I hope you had lovely New Year’s celebrations and here’s to a wonderful 2012!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2012 10:10 pm

    What beautiful stories and what a beautiful year for you. I hope 2012 is just as amazing!

  2. January 2, 2012 2:52 am

    It is a lovely idea to have a picture and a few words for every month of the past year.
    At a certain point I started following your blog , and this post made me realise that we have been walking at each other’s side for nearly 1 year. Isn’t this amazing?
    All the best, dear, dear Jadyn, for another fullfilling year.

  3. January 2, 2012 12:06 pm

    Looks like a lovely year! Wishing you all the best in 2012!!

  4. January 3, 2012 1:49 am

    Love reflecting with you:) and even though we do not live close..i know we are because I was there with you and you with me nonetheless!

Leave a Reply

