Skip to content

Knitting + Reading

December 31, 2011

For a few days, all I’ve been wanting to do is knit and read. This is sort of unusual for me because I like to do a variety of things in my day, but I found myself just wanting to knit and read so that’s what I’ve been doing…(well, not as much as I’d like to but as much as I can…)

I’ve been working on a rainbow blanket for my 7-year-old niece Shiloh. When I was knitting a blanket for her baby brother when I visited them earlier this year, she understandably felt that she should be getting a knitted blanket of her own. I felt that was a very reasonable request, especially since she had been faithfully holding the ball of yarn as I was knitting in the car.

So she, adorably, put in her order and told me which colors to use and in what order. Here’s the work in progress:

There is something very satisfying to me about working with all these bright colors. I hope she’ll like the end result!

The book I’ve been reading compulsively is called The Meghan Method by Meghan Carter and it details an approach to decorating your home which results in a very personal as well as functional space. I love how it digs deep in ways of identifying what you want out of a room and how to translate your ideas and inspiration into a room.

While making a room functional and looking good is one thing, making it a very personal space that makes the person it belongs to truly feel at home is a slightly different thing (and one that I am extremely interested in) and I love the ideas I am finding in this book. They will definitely help me in working with clients and I’d also recommend the book for anyone who wants to tackle decorating their own home!

Just as I was looking through my photos, I noticed how well the rainbow blanket I am making goes with this bag that I got from my sister for Christmas. She picks the best presents! While I’ll be a bit sad to say good-bye to the rainbow blanket once it’s gone, I’ll still have my colorful bag!

I’ve also been brainstorming ways to add more color to our home as I feel it’s looking a bit too drab right now. It’s far from finished anyway and it definitely needs more color. I can’t wait to tackle new projects in 2012!

Can you believe tomorrow is the last day of 2012? Hope the last day of the year is a lovely one for you!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2011 4:27 pm

    Love your bag! And the blanket — how lovely that it’ll be completely personal for her. Hope you had a lovely Christmas!

  2. December 31, 2011 4:43 pm

    I love the rainbow blanket!

  3. January 1, 2012 12:43 pm

    Such a beautiful blanket! Happy New Year!

  4. Kylee permalink
    January 2, 2012 1:54 am

    I’ve been teaching myself how to knit! It’s so therapeutic :). Love the rainbowness of your blanket. I Don’t know how to change colors yet, guess that’s my next step in the learning process! haha.

  5. January 3, 2012 1:50 am

    She’s going to love it!! Thank you for doing this for her!!

Leave a Reply

