Skip to content

West Elm Love

December 18, 2011

I have signed up for West Elm’s e-mails and I am not so sure that was such a good idea…I find myself ending up browsing their website far too many times. Of course, that is the whole point of the e-mails, blast how well it works on me!

Here are a few of my favorite things that I have come across lately:

1. Alphabet Trays
For anyone who loves typography, these would make a great addition to a bedside table or desk to gather small things on.

2. Large Traditional Wooden Bowl
For that well-travelled look without having to pay the price of a plane ticket. Even though I’d prefer to be traveling the world and bring home cool pieces myself, this is the next best thing.

3. Native Union Pop Phone
I love these retro-looking phones that plug into your cellphone. They come is such fun colors and also minimize your exposure to cell phone radiation. (Ever since reading an article about it, I’ve been concerned about cell phone radiation – I mostly use it for texting but if I talked on it a lot, I’d probably get one of these to use at home.)

4. Dipped Side Table
I love this paint-dipped look, such a fun side table.

5. Alphabet Scented Candle
I am slightly obsessed with scented candles (just ask my sister who patiently endured me sniffing every scented candle in a store we visited when I was with her) and I like it that the letters allow you add an even more personal touch to how you use or gift them – buying your own or someone else’s initials, for example, or spelling out a word.

6. Henry Sofa
I really like it that this sofa looks very comfortable without being bulky. It has nice clean lines and good proportions. The gray velvet looks sumptuous and this line is made with a variety of recycled materials – environmentally conscious design is always a big plus in my books.

7. Essex Printed Bench
The pattern on this bench is so pretty and I love the turned legs, such a great item to place at the end of a bed or use as a coffee table.

8. Slate Placemat
I really love these slate placemats and coasters. Natural stone has such a warmth to it – I know it may sound weird to think of stones as warm, but just the fact that they come from the earth makes me feel like they add a sense of warmth. But maybe that’s just me. At any rate, the texture is great and these would go so well in a variety of settings, from modern minimalist to rustic or country.

9. Rajasthan-Stripe Printed Dhurrie
One of my favorite West Elm rugs is featured in my last post on Stephanie’s bedroom design, and this is another one that I love. Such a great pattern and pretty inexpensive!

10. Charity Mugs

These mugs are really fun and 50% of the sales price of each are donated to charity, different mugs have different charities attached to them. What a great way to add both a bit of whimsical style to your morning cuppa as well as give back.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 18, 2011 2:43 am

    I do love West Elm, I always visit their shop in Santa Monica when I am in California.
    And I dream about all the wonderful things they carry, the right mix of contemporary, exotic, design…

  2. December 18, 2011 11:49 am

    I love West Elm too! We have a store here in Atlanta, but they never seem to have the item I came in for in stock. I usually end up ordering from them online! Thanks for sharing your list! The alphabet trays really caught my eye!

  3. December 18, 2011 9:59 pm

    I’ve never been to a West Elm, but I love all of those items. Those charity mugs are a great gift idea.

  4. December 19, 2011 1:08 pm

    We have one about 30 minutes away–just far enough not to make it over regularly. I like their clearance section in store. do you have one nearby? my favorite is #4

  5. December 19, 2011 2:54 pm

    I’ve never been to a store in person, but I could spend hours browsing online. Adore those alphabet trays!

  6. December 19, 2011 4:25 pm

    I am such a sucker for west elm too! There is a store towards Boston… I am not sure my wallet would survive the trip. So I will stick to ordering only their adorable 6 dollar bud vases from time to time.

  7. December 19, 2011 9:48 pm

    A West Elm just opened near me in Seattle, I’ve yet to head in there but those charity mugs are so great! Heading over to West Elm’s website now, you inspired me! Haha.

  8. ChrystinaNoel permalink
    December 20, 2011 12:27 am

    I absolutely understand what you mean. I walk past a store on my way home from work. Walked out with 3 Christmas gifts I didn’t intend on buying and a set of plates for myself. So addicting – – and definitely adorable. Also – your photo collage looks awesome, I’d love to know how you did it if you have time to share.

  9. December 20, 2011 1:37 am

    Wow looks cool, I need to visit the one in Santa Monica…thanks for the tip.

  10. December 20, 2011 3:24 am

    I love the plug in phones! West Elm is a great store.

  11. December 21, 2011 10:25 am

    Oh my gosh I LOVE your new picture! So stunning. It is better to get the emails than to go into the store :) It is so hard not to love everything once you in there. Merry Christmas to you and your husband, and thank you so much for the offer on the stools, I just might take you up on that!

Trackbacks

  1. How To Create a Collage in Picasa « Dutch.British.Love

Leave a Reply

