Skip to content

Pantone’s Color of the Year for 2012: Tangerine Tango

December 14, 2011

I don’t really care much about trends, as I tend to like what I like and don’t really care about what’s hot or not. I tend to like things that are classic and have stood the test of time because of their enduring quality and design, as long as they are mixed in with things that are personal and a bit quirky.

Yet, it is undeniable that trends do influence what we like, even subconsciously. And I do like reading about what is new and happening both in the area where I am as well as other places in the world. It is one of the reasons I like blogs, magazines, newspapers (the style pages), the internet and window shopping. I guess I enjoy holding my finger very loosely on the pulse of what is happening with trends, but that is as far as it goes with me.

Having that said, I thought I’d share this year’s Pantone color of the year. Last year was Honeysuckle, a warm-ish pink. This year, it’s Tangerine Tango, also known as orange.

This is the image that was in the press release to illustrate the tango side of the color.

I love all colors and can easily be persuaded to like any color at any given time in the right setting and used in the same time. It was kind of funny to me, though, that just a few days before I read about Tangerine Tango, I’d put together an inspirational collage for fun and felt very drawn to images with orange, mixed with hot pinks and purples. And I was kind of brainstorming ways to use orange in our decor in a non-permanent way…I think a couple of orange candles in brass candle holders would be pretty on our dining room table for example.

In the Pantone press release about 2012’s color, it also says that tangerine tango is “reminiscent of the radiant shadings of a sunset” and I think that is a big part of its attraction for me. I’ve always loved sunset, it is my favorite time of the day. And lately, I’ve found myself looking at the different hues found in a sunset and thinking about how well they work together. I downloaded this wallpaper for my laptop from the Ruche website and it’s probably my favorite wallpaper that I’ve ever had on there. (I change it constantly.)

How do you feel about orange?

Hope you’re having a lovely week so far!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2011 9:43 am

    Tangerine Tango looks very red to me. But it’s still pretty!

    Orange is one of my favorite colors. I love how vibrant it is and it reminds me of fall, my favorite time of year.

  2. December 15, 2011 2:06 pm

    I love this bold hue…and I’m with Jessica, I love it because it reminds me of the fabulous fall (c:

  3. December 15, 2011 6:42 pm

    I love pretty much every color, but I never thought orange would be as dear to me as my beloved jewel tones. But when I was branding my graphic design studio, something about the combination of orange and pink really struck me, and I just could not get it out of my head. I love how vibrant and happy they are, and now I can’t imagine having chosen another color combination!

  4. December 15, 2011 6:44 pm

    And P.S. I loooooooooooove that wallpaper. I’m a sucker for sunsets. (And I change my desktop constantly too — I find a group of images and set it to rotate daily so I’m never bored!)

  5. December 15, 2011 7:43 pm

    such a fantastic colour wow!

  6. December 15, 2011 10:32 pm

    while the color is gorgeous, i tend to shy away from wearing warm colors, as i don’t like the way they look on me.
    xo
    http://www.fluentbeauty.com

  7. December 15, 2011 10:35 pm

    the color isn’t my favorite I’m afraid, but maybe I’ll learn to like it :) I tend to stay a little tense and so I enjoy having relaxing colors around.

  8. December 16, 2011 3:25 pm

    This is an interesting pick from Pantone. I bet we will be seeing a lot of modern, clean design rooms painted bright white with splashes of this in accessories. I wish they had picked a rustier earthier orange shade. Thanks for sharing!! Can’t wait to see next years choice :)

Leave a Reply

