Skip to content

Cozy Candles

November 30, 2011

I grew up in a house with a working fire place and some of my best childhood memories are of the times my dad had made a fire and we were all in the living room enjoying the coziness and warmth of the flames. I loved being curled up on the sofa and reading a good book!

We don’t have a fire place now, but one of the joys of shorter days is that they are perfect for lighting candles. I like to collect candle holders on my thrift shopping expeditions and group them together.

I’d like to add more and create a larger grouping of candles. It doesn’t replace a fireplace exactly but still fills my heart with delight at the flickering flames plus it’s a really easy focal point in a room to brightens up dark days!

Below are some inspiration images:


{Pottery Barn}
I love mercury glass and the branches in the back are so pretty!


{Rie Elise Larsen via Decor8}
Such a fun mix of candle holders and vases in pretty colors.


{Style At Home}
These glass holders are really pretty and would go with many decor styles.


{Life in the Fun Lane}
Glass holders in a much softer setting, also very beautiful!

Have a lovely day!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2011 10:46 am

    When I was a kid I used to want a fireplace realllly bad! Since I grew up in Florida fireplaces were hard to come by. I love the candle idea : )

  2. November 30, 2011 12:49 pm

    I am a nut for candles. When I’ve had a rough day, I crawl into the tub, turn out the lights and light a candle. It just makes it so much more cozy and relaxing.

  3. November 30, 2011 2:20 pm

    I have a fireplace in my apartment, but I still love candles. So cozy. Love these images!

  4. November 30, 2011 5:30 pm

    HAH A fireplace is ofcourse the ultimate coziness or like we say gezelligheid ;)

  5. December 1, 2011 2:20 am

    I have a fire place in my flat, but since I live on a second (third) floor with no lift, no wood finds its way in it.
    Neverthelss I like to fill the hearth with plenty of candles, to have the illusion of a roaring fire!

Leave a Reply

