Skip to content

How To: Pompoms

November 22, 2011

Pompoms really are so easy to make, but since the last time I remember making them was in elementary school (maybe even kindergarten), I needed a little refresher and I thought I would share.

Materials:
Yarn
Thin Cardboard
Glasses or other round objects to use as templates
Scissors
Cup of tea (optional)

I used the rim of a large glass for the outside of the circle and the bottom of a smaller one for the inside. Draw two of these shapes.. don’t you think they kind of look like donuts? Anyway…

How to make pompoms

You’ll need a to cut a piece out of the circle, which makes it easy to cut out the small hole in the middle too! Bonus!

How to make pompoms

Cut off a piece of yarn and loop it around the inside, make sure it’s long enough that it sticks out a few inches on both sides.

Start wrapping your yarn…

and all the way around to the other side.

And go back again too for a fuller pompom – it depends a bit on what you like. When it looks like a good amount of yarn on there, grab hold of the pieces of yarn that are hanging out on the sided and twist them. Cut all around the circle and pull the ends of the yarn tighter as you go. Make a knot as tight as you can to secure it.

Now, if you’re anything like me, your pompom will not quite come out looking like the perfect globe you had in mind. Not too worry…

Just trim your pompom until it looks acceptably round.

Now sip your tea and enjoy the fruits of your labor.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2011 9:58 am

    I remember one particular roadtrip as a kid where for some reason we made pompoms the entire ride to my great grandmother’s town. I know the reason now as an adult ;)
    And yes, awesome that you use the cardboard circle – it frustrates me to see people spend money on “pom pom makers” from MIchaels, etc.

  2. Mrs. Bachelor Girl permalink
    November 23, 2011 1:09 pm

    SO cute! And what an easy “busy-hands” project!

  3. November 23, 2011 4:05 pm

    Oh my gosh I had forgotten all about homemade pom-poms! They are so darling! Thanks for the reminder! Enjoy your Thanksgiving!

  4. November 23, 2011 4:18 pm

    Pompoms are so nice, especially as christmas decorations.

  5. November 24, 2011 12:26 am

    Ooh! I love making these! Great blog :)
    xo, Kinsey

  6. November 25, 2011 6:16 pm

    These are so cute. I love them!

  7. November 26, 2011 2:19 pm

    These are so cute! Love your blog, thanks for the comment on mine :)

  8. November 27, 2011 3:08 pm

    So cute!! Love the little pom poms!! I always look forward to your posts!!

  9. November 27, 2011 3:09 pm

    Whoops – forgot to say – Thanks for linking up to Take it on Tuesday blog hop!!

  10. November 28, 2011 9:47 pm

    So utterly fun. I like the idea of attaching them to bare branches – what a creative way to fake flowers in the winter. I really miss the colors of Spring!

Leave a Reply

