Skip to content

Recipe: Carrot Fennel Soup with Coconut Milk

November 16, 2011

If I could only have one type of food for the rest of my life, I’d probably pick soup. There is just something magical to me about throwing different ingredients in a pot of boiling broth and having the flavors meld together into a concoction that can be enjoyed spoonful by hot spoonful. Making soup for others or for yourself just feels like such a nourishing act. I love soups chunky, broth-y, creamy, hot and cold. And the fun thing is they are so easy to play with; you can use a recipe, change a recipe up or use no recipe at all without having to put much thought into it.

Today’s recipe is one of the latest ones I made based on a recipe but adapting it to use what I had at hand.

Take a bunch of carrots…

and slice them up.

Take a bulb of fennel…

and slice it up as well.

Raid your spice cupboard and see which spices might go with this. I used 1 tsp fennel seeds, 1 tsp cumin + 1/4 tsp cardamom

Sautee the vegetables in a large pot with the spices until vegetables are soft and spices fragrant.

Add water until vegetables are immersed and floating around happily, I used about 3 cups.

Instead of water, you could add stock. I added a vegetable stock cubes.

vegetable stock cubes

Also stick in some bay leaves for added flavor.

bay leaves

Cook it for about 45 minutes, until the vegetables are nice and soft. Put it in the blender to turn it into a silky smooth liquid. Add a can of coconut milk, and salt if needed.

coconut milk

Add the juice of a lime to add some tang – add it bit by bit and taste as you go so you don’t overdo it.

lime

The result is a subtly spiced soup that is sweet from the carrots, with added depth of flavor from the fennel and tangy from the lime juice. As an added bonus, it can happily be enjoyed by omnivores, lactose-intolerants and vegans alike because of the coconut milk!

carrot fennel coconut soup

Yum.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2011 4:07 pm

    This looks delicious! I’m a big fan of Fennel so I will be trying this! I’ll let you know how it comes out whever I make it : )

  2. November 17, 2011 11:43 am

    oh my i swear i can taste this soup right now, it looks and sounds amazing! coconut milk based soups are some of my favorite!

  3. November 17, 2011 6:36 pm

    I love soup — so easy to make and so comforting. Will have to try this recipe soon!

  4. November 18, 2011 12:55 am

    You’re writing so cute! :*

  5. November 23, 2011 4:16 pm

    I do love soups, too. This recipe seems very good, I will try it soon, thank you!

Leave a Reply

