Skip to content

On My Wish List: The Imperfectly Perfect Home

November 12, 2011

There was one article in the latest Martha Stewart Living that really stood out to me. I actually held off on reading it until I knew I’d be able to really soak in the words and images. The article is called Home School and it isthe home of Deborah Needleman who was the editor of Domino magazine and has written a book called The Imperfectly Perfect Home.

I so love the title and the book looks beautiful. The water color illustrations are done by artist Virginia Johnson and they are luscious. Love.

I just wanted to share this small excerpt from the book that was shared in the article, I was nodding my head all the way through reading it:

Decorating. On the one hand, it’s decorating! We shouldn’t take it too seriously. Lighten up. Have fun. On the other hand, it’s decorating. A setting that reassures you, inspires you, and serves you—one that makes your family comfortable and puts your guests at ease. That is rather serious business. The sweet spot lies, as it often does, in the middle. We have to consider our needs and how to make our house hew to them, and then we should get out of the way and get on with living and having fun. Without a bit of imperfection, you won’t have a house that breathes life and energy—something I’ve realized more as my family has settled into our home in New York’s Hudson Valley. If you’re skillful enough, you may be able to achieve a pitch-perfect decorator style that can impress your visitors, but it likely won’t put a smile on anyone’s face or, I think, make you happy. Quite simply, the signs of a life being lived are what makes a house come alive. So go ahead and invite in a bit of the chaos, quirk and patina that real life brings with it.” — Deborah Needleman, “The Perfectly Imperfect Home”

I came across this quote of hers too on The Bloomsbury Life:

“The point of decorating, as far as I can tell, is to create the background for the best life you can have.”— Deborah Needleman, “The Imperfectly Perfect Home”

Yes.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2011 4:13 pm

    I just saw this book somewhere else! We are having similar thoughts…I LOVE the title, too!

  2. November 12, 2011 4:53 pm

    I think even if I could get my house perfectly decorated, it wouldn’t stay that way. I agree. I love a home that looks nice, but lived in.

  3. November 12, 2011 6:00 pm

    That illustration is absolutely beautiful.

  4. November 12, 2011 11:05 pm

    This reminds me of a quote that I saw on a vintage plaque once – “This home is clean enough to be healthy, but messy enough to be happy. ”
    I think decorating really is the background for your life – if it’s not good, your space will never feel like home.
    Gorgeous illustrations too! I’ll check this out next time I’m at the bookstore.

  5. November 13, 2011 11:23 pm

    I read the Living magazine article to and had put the book on my list of things to get my hands on. Now I really want to get it!

  6. November 14, 2011 2:39 am

    Yes, I agree. My flat is confortable, cosy, a mixture of good furniture and ikea stuff. A little bit of elegance, a little bit of chaos, but an environment that makes me feel at home.

  7. November 14, 2011 5:32 pm

    Jadyn, I bet your house is so homey!..Sounds like a great book!

  8. November 14, 2011 5:48 pm

    so true! and it’s not to impress others, it’s to make ourselves feel at home in our house!

  9. November 16, 2011 12:11 am

    Wonderful quotes! I love the part about “the signs of life being lived are what makes a house come alive”. So true! Thanks for sharing.
    Blessings,
    Marcia

Leave a Reply

