Skip to content

Handmade Gift: Knitted Rib Baby Blanket

November 7, 2011

I finally finished the baby blanket I’ve been working on for Alexander, my almost 12-week-old nephew.

I started it a few days before going to see them and was hoping to finish it on the plane. I underestimated the hours of knitting that it would take me to make it, but I did enjoy knitting on the plane.

Did you know they say that knitting can have the same effect on your heart rhythm and brain waves as yoga or meditation? Well, I definitely did feel calmer on the plane while knitting. Not that I am normally anxious, but I get restless.

While knitting it, there were moments where I was thinking about Alexander a lot, his life that is stretching out before him and I found my mind wandering and praying for him.

It turned out to be a two-toned blanket. This was unintentional – I’d bought the yarn all in the same color but realized they were different once I started so I alternated them for a striped effect.

Once it was finished I thought maybe one day Alexander will use it as a picnic blanket.

But then I realized that since he is a boy, it will more likely end up as a super-hero cape. Like this, maybe?

But of course he’ll look MUCH cuter with it!

The pattern I used is from Orange Flower Patterns.

Any handmade gifts you have made or have been working on lately?

Ps. One of my favorite blogs and interior designers Lauren Liess from Pure Style Home is giving away two yards of one of the fabrics she’s designed to celebrate the opening of her on-line store. If you like nature-inspired, modern with a vintage edge design, you’ll love her fabrics! Check out her store and giveaway here.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2011 11:02 pm

    So beautiful! I’ve really been feeling the itch to knit lately, but I’m trying to focus on finishing a project before I pick up the needles again. It really is very calming . . . until you mess something up!

  2. November 7, 2011 11:57 pm

    So beautiful, my sweet!! Cannot wait to see Alexander with it! And also thank you for you prayers…as you know one day he’ll have a beard and that is totally freaking me out….hahaha:)
    Oh and up to the next project? :)

  3. November 8, 2011 9:43 am

    Beautiful! You’re so talented.

  4. November 14, 2011 2:41 am

    Well done, this is just perfect!

Leave a Reply

