Skip to content

Week 4: Reflect & Evolve // Day 27: Enjoy Stencil

October 27, 2011

Entrance Makeover

In that very messy before photo, hidden besides empty cans of paint and a paint-sprayer, sat a piece of wood that looked like is should go straight to the trash but that I actually had a plan for.

I’d found it one day when I was walking Halo. It’s probably a piece of a bench, and it struck me that you could think of it as the urban equivalent of driftwood. Sure, it may not be as romantic and not quite as pretty, but I saw potential.

I got home late last night from California and it felt satisfying to channel my sadness over missing my sister and her family into a quick creative project today. I don’t miss them any less now, but I do feel cheered up a bit by having created something.

I thought the piece of wood was the perfect thing to create a sign with that would remind people walking into our home to enjoy themselves.

I mixed a bit of the leftover blue paint from painting the cabinet with white in different quantities and painted the letters with the help of a stencil I’d made.

See all the posts I have written in this series so far by clicking on the image below:

Find out what other 31 Day bloggers are doing HERE.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2011 11:26 pm

    i LOVE this! i’ve been reading each and every post and have just had so much fun reading about this project of yours! i’ll be sad when it’s over :(
    (what’s next??)

  2. October 28, 2011 10:47 am

    I love how you turn run of the mill items into art. What a great day!

  3. October 28, 2011 11:05 am

    I. Love. It!!! :)

  4. October 28, 2011 11:11 am

    I’ve LOVED looking through your series today! I can’t wait to see the end product! this looks like a great project and you’re doing a lovely job!

  5. October 28, 2011 4:05 pm

    I love the simplicity of this, what a wonderful idea…I may need to borrow it ;)

  6. October 28, 2011 9:05 pm

    That is so neat! I have just about zero creativity and even if I’d thought to grab the piece for future use, I probably wouldn’t have ever actually come up with anything to do with it in the end!

  7. October 29, 2011 1:41 am

    I’m really enjoying your 31 day series! This is something I think I’d like to do. :)

  8. October 29, 2011 3:50 am

    So cool!!! I am off to check out the other posts in this series! I found you on the Followers Fest and I hope you’ll take the time to check out my blog and follow as well.

  9. nicole permalink
    October 29, 2011 9:48 am

    this is great, thanks for sharing- i’m stopping by from the follower fest and would love for you to stop by and checkout the huge giveaway going on at my blog- http://thelovelypoppy.blogspot.com/2011/10/blog-follower-giveaway.html xoxo nicole

  10. October 29, 2011 5:50 pm

    I really love this idea. (And I totally noticed some kind of furniture in a neighbor’s trash pile today thanks to you. Unfortunately he was standing next to it! Didn’t have the guts to check it out with him standing right there!)

Leave a Reply

