Skip to content

Week 3: Get To Work // Day 18: From Inspiration to Real Life

October 18, 2011


{Design: Amy Meier, Image: Better Homes & Gardens, Photographed by King Au}

I was looking though some of the inspiration photos I posted at the beginning of this month, and I noticed how close the blue of the chair in the above photo actually is to the color of the cabinet I painted.

It’s not that surprising, since I did pick that photo for the color inspiration for the cabinet. What I found kind of funny though, is that I didn’t actually look at this photo or even thought about it when selecting the blue that I wanted to use. It had really made its way into my sub-conscious I guess!

And I noticed the golden mirrors in the inspiration photo too.

Here is a mirror that I found in our basement after we purchased the house.

I’d painted it golden. Again, I didn’t actually think of the photo when choosing gold, but just wanted something that would add a bit of warmth to the space.

I just wanted to emphasize again that it really is so helpful to saturate yourself with sources of inspiration when starting a new project. Looking at photos that you are attracted to is not a waste of time, they may just help you create a vision for what you want to create in your life! And part of that will happen sub-consciously, so just enjoy the process!

See all the posts I have written in this series so far by clicking on the image below:

Find out what other 31 Day bloggers are doing HERE.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2011 11:29 pm

    oh, how beautiful: real life is better than inspiration!

  2. October 19, 2011 4:39 pm

    Good reminder! I think part of the reason I haven’t done a lot with my home is I haven’t spent enough time looking for inspiration.

Leave a Reply

