Skip to content

Week 3: Get To Work // Day 17: Cabinet

October 17, 2011

I had fun painting the mid-century modern cabinet today. I bought this a while ago from a sweet elderly couple who lived around the corner from us and were selling a lot of their furniture because they were moving into an apartment.

I put a coat of primer on it. Looking at this photo, it makes me laugh a little to see the stuff that accumulated on top of it once the primer had dried: Small pumpkins and an egg timer?

Here is the color again that I’d picked for it. It’s a Martha Stewart paint available at Home Depot called Azurite.

And here it is on the cabinet! That nifty thing sitting in front of it was my birthday present from Ben & my parents. It’s a Wagner Control Spray Max and it’s helped me save a lot of time when painting the bench and the cabinet. The finish is also nicer than when using rollers or brushes. I love using it – so much fun! (Note: I didn’t actually spray it with the drawer in, I just put it back in after it dried to see what it looked like. Just in case you’re wondering!)

It is attached to this device that blows the air through the spray gun.

And here’s the final result! The color is actually more true to life in the picture above taken outside, but here’s a better full-frontal look. I love this blue and the way the cabinet came out seriously made me so happy!

I was curious to see how far the sample size of the paint (7.75 oz./229 ml) would stretch and it ended up being enough. I even have a bit left-over for touch ups if needed. So good to know that it’s a good amount for small projects! It certainly beats having to buy a quart of paint if you don’t need that much And from googling it, I just realized it’s only $2.94 in the States. Here in Canada, we pay $4.99 for it. Not fair! Either way, it’s still a good option.

Find out what other 31 Day bloggers are doing HERE.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2011 9:41 am

    Absolutely love it. Amazing colour you chose and the shape of the piece is great.

  2. October 18, 2011 1:54 pm

    I’m going to need you to give me the link to that sprayer…like, now! Ha! I love the dresser though, and kudos on the awesome color

  3. October 19, 2011 11:18 am

    LOVE that color!

  4. October 28, 2011 11:04 am

    That sprayer looks pretty cool!!! Though I have liked woods in the past, I’m starting to like more whites and blues now. It would be fun to spray paint furniture!!

  5. October 28, 2011 8:54 pm

    That is amazing how the blue transformed that piece! It’s beautiful!

Leave a Reply

