Skip to content

Week 3: Get To Work // Day 16: Coat Rack

October 16, 2011

This will sound strange, but before we bought our house, I used to walk past it on my way to work and through the window that looks into the entry, I could see a coat rack with coats hanging on it. For some reason I just felt that made it look so welcoming, so ever since we bought the house, I had it in my head that I wanted a coat rack.

Therefore, when my neighbors put theirs out front for the taking, I went over and carried it home. I actually nearly ran toward it because I saw a car slow down and worried they wanted it too. Who needs their dignity when instead they can fulfill a vision. Ha!

I will say, though, that it can feel a bit awkward to bring your neighbors’ unwanted pieces inside, but I’d done it before (the bench) and I’ll do it again! Really, if it’s something you want, how much more convenient does it get??

Its shape is not the most elegant and its color is the type of fake brass that gave brass its bad name for a long time. I love brass, but this is not the pretty kind.

I don’t have a better “after photo” and I actually didn’t get to finish it completely because I ran out of time and had to go to work, but I did put it back in the entry and even half-done it already looks much better to my eye.

Now I just need a day that’s a bit sunny or at least dry so I can do some more spray painting outside!

See all the posts I have written in this series so far by clicking on the image below:

Find out what other 31 Day bloggers are doing HERE.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2011 10:22 pm

    I wish my neighbors had better taste. I very rarely find furniture, and when I do, there’s a reason it’s in the trash.

  2. October 18, 2011 2:18 pm

    When you get it done, you’ll have to show us how it looks in your entryway :)
    Hope you’re having a great week!
    Blessings,
    Marcia

Leave a Reply

