Skip to content

Week 2: Clear Clutter & Identify Obessions // Day 13: Pots & Bottles

October 13, 2011

Some of my intentional obsessions (see yesterday’s post if you wonder what the heck those are) for this room were flower pots and bottles.

I had shopped around my house and looked at things I have collected over time in thrift stores or taken home from the street. (Note: Taking furniture home from the street is probably not always a smart idea in this time where bed bugs have become a real problem, but none of my pieces had any upholstery…I think that’s pretty safe, right?) After doing this, I realized there wasn’t actually a whole lot I needed to purchase for what I had in mind.

What I did need were some terracotta flower pots and geraniums. I found terracotta pots at Dollarama and 2 geraniums for $0.75 each at Home Hardware.

I found some cute herbs at Home Hardware, also for $0.75 each. I already had a couple of pots (the two on the right), and I found a milk glass one at Goodwill.

I needed a dish for keys and found this cute milk glass dish at Goodwill on another trip. The plum colored glass bottle is also from Goodwill and there were two, so I bought both.

I was also looking for a glass vessel of some sort to make a mini terrarium-type-of-thing and I found this stemless wineglass at Goodwill (Goodwill rocks!), which I filled with some stones, potting soil, moss, chestnuts and a mini-tree.

It may seem so simple – and it really was! – but it did help me immensely to first identify what I was looking for, so that I was focused and had a sense of purpose when browsing.

I love thrift store shopping, but it can be easy to get side-tracked or even discouraged when you don’t have a clear purpose in mind! I find that if I know what I’m looking for, then even if I only find one little thing, if it fits within my vision, I really feel happy and accomplished when leaving the store. And it’s always important to remember to check back often! It took me three trips to Goodwill to gather the stuff I am showing here. It really pays off to go in regularly.

See all the posts I have written in this series so far by clicking on the image below:

Find out what other 31 Day bloggers are doing HERE.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2011 1:05 pm

    Girl, Goodwill is one of my intentional obsessions! LOVE all the great stuff you can find there! Nothing like finding something that someone thought was junk and making it fabulous! Have a great weekend!

  2. October 14, 2011 8:22 pm

    Love those milk glass finds! I’m curious now about what your neighbourhood is!
    If you ever want to meet and thrift, lemme know!
    Oh and about the widget – send it on over to my email –
    melaniegodecki at gmail com

  3. October 15, 2011 11:18 pm

    Definitely need to check out my local Goodwill! Love everything you got there. And I love what you did with the wine glass!

Leave a Reply

