Skip to content

Week 2: Clear Clutter & Identify Intentions // Day 12: Intentional Obsessions

October 12, 2011

One of the things that Jessica Constable talks about with her Makunder My Life process is the concept of intentional obsessions. This basically is the fun part, it’s creating the wish list and shopping list.

After clearing out the clutter, there is this this empty space, so now it’s time to decide what to fill it with. Yay!

I’d like to include this motto that I used a few posts back:

Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful.

—William Morris

One of the things I did was shop around my house. It’s funny how once I made my entrance a priority, I started looking at stuff I already differently and found a few things that I hadn’t thought of using there before.

This bench? It had been sitting in our dining room for a while, but it was time to move it and I realized it would be the perfect thing to organize our shoes and keep the somewhat out of sight.

The grain sack with the blue stripe in this pile of things I bought in Holland past April, I still had sitting around and I think a little lumbar pillow out of will be perfect with that bench!

I also finally framed a print I bought at Michael’s a while back, framed some pretty paper I had in frames I found in a thrift store a while ago and painted the frame of a mirror that I found in our basement when we moved in.

I can’t wait to show it all, but I’ll wait until more of the space is done…

See all the posts I have written in this series so far by clicking on the image below:

Find out what other 31 Day bloggers are doing HERE.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2011 10:51 pm

    It is getting exciting also for me! I like the concept of intentional obsessions, quite an unusual one.

  2. October 15, 2011 11:15 pm

    I think I’m adopting that quote as my new motto for my home. Definitely a good thing to keep in mind.

Leave a Reply

