Skip to content

Week 2: Clear Clutter & Identify Identions // Day 11: Identify Intentions

October 11, 2011

While creating my vision for our entry, collecting the images and looking at what stood out to me, I noticed a few themes that came out of it. Some were expected, but not all of them were. I think that’s why it pays of to take your time with this and make the effort to dig in a bit and see what speaks to you.

This is also yet another way to make a space work for you even if you are not spending much money on it. Start with what you really want from it first, then find a way to make it so it serves those needs – and you can come up with low-cost solutions to do that. Even if you have all the money to spend in the world, but don’t give this some thought, you may end up with a space that never feels quite right to you.

Some of the words that came up for me, and that I’ll call my intentions for this space:

  • Welcoming
  • Functional
  • Pretty
  • Fun

That might seem pretty self-explanatory. However, this is what it means to me:

Welcoming was the first word and is not a surprise, I want people to walk in and feel that they are welcome in our home and that they can be themselves.

Functional is one that I want to keep in mind, because I want it to have the elements to make it easy to use: A doormat, enough places to hang up coats and bags, a place to store shoes out of sight and a place for putting coats and gloves etc., and a place to put our keys.

Pretty gives me a certain visual. For your entry, it might be different. Maybe you don’t want pretty, maybe you want traditional/dramatic,/minimalist or any other word that gives you a visual of what you want it to be.

Fun was the most surprising to me. I really want to add a bit of whimsy or fun to it and I had just never thought of it that way. I want it to bring a smile to the face of the person entering through the door.

So there you go, these are my guiding intentions!

Do you have a space in your home where you feel it might be helpful to develop intentions for?

See all the posts I have written in this series so far by clicking on the image below:

Find out what other 31 Day bloggers are doing HERE.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 15, 2011 11:11 pm

    I need to develop intentions for what I want for my home in general. I’ve lived in 3 apartments in 3 years and never really settle in because I havent taken the time to evaluate what I want for my home.

Leave a Reply

