Skip to content

Week 2: Clear Clutter & Identify Intentions // Day 10: How To Declutter

October 10, 2011

I can be easily overwhelmed at times when I see a lot of stuff in front of me and having a system helps me get going.

I actually really am fine with having some clutter around the house, it gives me energy to have different projects on the go and I don’t like to have to put stuff away constantly and pull it out again later. Having stuff I’m inspired by at the moment around me and having it in my face keeps me inspired and productive at times!

However, when you want to do something different with a room, clearing out everything can be really helpful in starting with a clean slate. Then you can focus on bringing only things you love into the room.

So, when you clear the room of all the stuff, a good place to start is having three categories:

  1. Give Away
  2. Put Away
  3. Throw Away

I find that just having those three categories in mind can make it a lot easier to sort through stuff.

If you come across an item that you’re that you can’t decide about, try asking yourself questions like these (via FlyLady):

  • Do I love this item?
  • Have I used it in the past year?
  • Is it really garbage?
  • Do I have another one that is better?
  • Should I really keep two?
  • Does it have sentimental value that causes me to love it?
  • Or does it give me guilt and make me sad when I see the item?

It’s funny how it can help!

It’s also funny how as I am typing this, I am thinking of a few areas in my house that could do with a little declutter love.

See all the posts I have written in this series so far by clicking on the image below:

Find out what other 31 Day bloggers are doing HERE.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2011 8:42 pm

    This is definitely something I need to work on. Thanks for sharing!

  2. October 10, 2011 9:10 pm

    I recently finished reading FlyLady’s book and am working on decluttering. That is why your motto “When in doubt, clear it out” is going to be so helpful to me.

  3. October 11, 2011 11:06 am

    I love that last question. While back in England, I was clearing out the last of my childhood things, and came across three years of high school yearbooks. They brought back so much old stress that I finally threw them away — and what a weight was lifted! Goodbye, teenage drama, unrequited love, and miserable French classes…

  4. October 11, 2011 8:37 pm

    I need to do this!

Leave a Reply

