Skip to content

Week 2: Clear Clutter & Identify Intentions // Day 8: Before Photos

October 8, 2011

Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful.

—William Morris

(Note to my mom and dad: You might want to skip this post. Don’t say I didn’t warn you…)

Clearing whatever you DON’T like from a space that isn’t working for you is a great way to get started.

Today, I am just sharing a few photos of the difference this made in our entry. While I call these “BEFORE” photos, they’re more like “DURING” photos, since by this time at least the broken fridge that had been sitting there for MONTHS had been removed. Oh my. It’s funny how you just get used to something being a certain way (and by “you”, I mean “me”, I know not everyone is like this).

Anyway, it was at this point that I decided we needed a more drastic change. I was tired of this being the first thing I saw when I walked into the house and tired of first telling people “Don’t mind the mess” while quickly steering them past the mess and inside the house:

In the spirit of full disclosure, I thought I’d also show you the coats for all 4 seasons hanging up:

And as an extra treat, once you made it inside past all of that, there was these piles of stuff waiting for you, which also sat there for weeks on end.

And this is after the initial clearing of the clutter:

Yes, there’s obviously still lots to do, but at least, it looks like there’s room to BREATHE, right?! So, now I have a new motto: When in doubt, clear it out.

See all the posts I have written in this series so far by clicking on the image below:

Find out what other 31 Day bloggers are doing HERE

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2011 9:36 am

    your rubber boots look so cute! can’t wait to see what you do to this space :)

  2. October 9, 2011 5:45 pm

    I kind of already like how it looks. Is that bad? Haha, Hard to imagine it getting even better! But, looking forward to seeing that. Thank you so much for your sweet comment on my guest post on Aubrey’s blog this week!

  3. October 9, 2011 6:21 pm

    I’m glad to know I’m not the only one who lets clutter sit for a while! (And I totally get used to it being that way too.)

  4. October 10, 2011 9:07 pm

    Wow, the after pictures look great! I always love seeing blank space where clutter used to be. And I love the motto. In fact I’m going to write it on a post-it and stick it on my desk :)

Leave a Reply

