Skip to content

Week 1: Create a Vision // Day 6: Accessories & Vibe

October 6, 2011

Space, colors, the placement of objects, light — these things actually matter. An environment can be counterproductive in term of your growth toward who you want to be, or it can be catalytic.
— Constance Forrest, quoted by Winifred Gallagher in House Thinking
 

I really do believe that our environment affects us more than we are often aware of. And it’s not an overstatement to say that an environment can catalyze your growth into the person you want to be, or know to be deep inside, or hinder it.

“Creativity is just connecting things. When you ask creative people how they did something, they feel a little guilty because they didn’t really do it, they just saw something. It seemed obvious to them after a while. That’s because they were able to connect experiences they’ve had and synthesize new things. And the reason they were able to do that was that they’ve had more experiences or they have thought more about their experiences than other people.

Unfortunately, that’s too rare a commodity. A lot of people in our industry haven’t had very diverse experiences. So they don’t have enough dots to connect, and they end up with very linear solutions without a broad perspective on the problem. The broader one’s understanding of the human experience, the better design we will have.” — Steve Jobs

I am also adding a quote by Steve Jobs today in tribute to this visionary and artist in the world of technology who passed away yesterday. So many people have written about him today, and I really don’t have anything to add to that. However, in reading some of the things he has said, I was struck by how inspirational he really was. In this above quote, I love how the last line: The broader one’s understanding of the human experience, the better design we will have. It really isn’t just about what is pretty, and the right proportions. Design is about synthesizing what you have experienced in life, your world view, connections, relationships and using your medium of choice (whether it be painting, writing, talking, baking, designing interiors, technology, loving people, creating a brand or all of the above) to create something that only you could have created because of your life experiences and your way of connecting the dots.

It’s such a good reminder that we all have something unique to offer and also that no life experience needs to be wasted, you can use it in whatever you are trying to create in your life today.

And back to more mundane things, what I am trying to create today/this month: A welcoming entry. Here are some more images from my entry inspiration files:


{Image via Design*Sponge}
I like the idea of using books as an accessory.


I like that little bench with pillows and the big stones on the floor, and the rain boots.


You might remember I mentioned a coat rack in the video I did at the beginning of this series. Here’s more evidence that I really love coat racks. Oh, and more rain boots too!


{A Beach Cottage}
This image kept coming back to me when thinking about our entry. Ours isn’t going to have those beautiful beachy touches like this one does, but the white and blue airy feel of it is part of the vibe that I’m after.


{Gardener and Marks}
This is another one that convinced me that white walls is the way to go for us rather than paint them a color. I’m also thinking that it’s finally time to make the French grain sack I bought in Amsterdam in April into a pillow.

I can’t believe week one is almost over! Tomorrow will be the last day about creating a vision and we’ll go on to clearing the clutter & identifying intentions.

See all the posts I have written in this series so far by clicking on the image below:

Find out what other 31 Day bloggers are doing HERE.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2011 3:29 pm

    Ah, how I agree with that first quote. But sitting in a mess, and feeling a mess, I will now get up and change that :)

  2. October 6, 2011 8:39 pm

    I love the quote from Steve Jobs, and what you wrote about it. So, so true.

  3. October 7, 2011 10:30 am

    I love the that qoute of Steve Jobs.. And I agree with you…

  4. October 7, 2011 12:36 pm

    Thanks for the birthday wishes :)
    I also love the Steve Jobs quote. He gave us so much.

  5. October 12, 2011 2:03 pm

    Love your inspiration pics and can’t wait to see your finished entryway. My frontdoor opens straight into my living room and I’ve been looking for a way to give it an entryway feel. enjoying your series!

Leave a Reply

